Loosemeat Sandwiches I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Tangy, a little spicy, and very messy. Not quite barbecue tasting and more like a Sloppy Joe without the sauce. The worcestershire was dominant in this along with the cayenne, and it seemed like it needed "something" but I don't know what. I used half the onion and a low sodium Season All and only half of what it called for, but it still seemed a little salty to me. This made a fast hot lunch. Thanks Teri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Was a good quick meal for a week night. I don't think I will be making it very often though. There was just something a little off about it but I couldn't pinpoint it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I really like this, I grew up on sloppy Joe's, this is a grown up version. I served it on Potato rolls with corn and french fries. will add this to meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Very good.. I added more garlic and extra seasoned salt. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very good. A little salty tasting, but will make again with less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This came out somewhere between a Sloppy Joe and seasoned taco meat. I roasted the garlic in the oven rather than saute, but that was the only change I made. The flavor was great, my husband and brother loved it. As a side note...Roseanne's lunchbox was based on a small restaurant called hte Canteen in Ottumwa, Iowa. Great place. Hard to decribe, but the meat was steamed and chopped unbelievably fine. But it has only dry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This recipe is good. To me they are like Sloppy Joes. Being a chef I love too cook and am always looking for something different and fun that make my kids want to eat what I make. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This recipe was good. We tried it with rice also but what my family actually preferred was putting the meat in a tortilla with refried beans & sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Very very good! But the recipe needs pepper (lots) and more seasoning salt. I hope this is as good as the ones at the Lunchbox on Roseanne because they would surely do well. AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I just whipped up a batch of this to use for a dinner later in the week, but I snuck a bite as it came out of the skillet and yum! I didn't have tomato juice on hand, so I used some spicy V8, thinned with a bit of water to cut the heat (so hopefully my daughter will eat it) and omitted the cayenne. Also used liquid smoke instead of browning sauce (not sure what the difference between these 2 is anyway) and cut the brown sugar down to 1 tsp instead of 2. I must say, if I already had the burger buns on hand, I might have one for lunch right now :-) Thanks for the recipe, I'm a huge Roseanne fan so I just had to try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States