Loose Meat on a Bun, Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
4.5 stars. Ok, I did change this a little and my measurements are for 1/3 of recipe (4 servings). I added a tsp of lard once I drained the cooked beef (85% grnd chuck.) Used potato masher to get a fine consistancy. I used 1C of beef broth vs 1-1/4 Cup. Due to using Better than Bouillion beef paste to make broth, I omitted the salt. Also, I used dried minced onion vs fresh (1/8C). Didn't use Worchstershire either. Added the butter at the very end of cook time. I ate Maid-Rites as a kid and this was as close as I've come to since then. I love them on steamed slider type buns. I take a package of them, cut in half, pile on the loose meat & put tops on, place in lightly buttered pan and cover tightly w/foil. Bake at 350 (top rack) for about 15 minutes....YUM! UPDATE: Adding in a tsp of Lipton dry onion soup mix while beef cooks tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
4.5 stars. I doubled the onion and added white pepper and just a bit of mustard. Add the onion to the beef when the beef is half brown and be sure to strain the grease off very well. This recipe brings back memories of childhood. Use small soft buns and pickles and mustard ONLY for the true Maid-Rite experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Excellent! It took about an hour to boil down the broth. I've misses Tastee burgers since I left Nebraska-made these and served them with onion rings and the obligatory french onion dip and was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
mmm-mmm GOOD! Basic, simple and so tasty...fast food for hungry families!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
These were just ok. I've never had a maid-rite so I couldn't compare. But I will probably just make sloppy joes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Just like 'Roseanne' used to make . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These are great ~ after years of making sloppy joes, we've switched to these after trying them last month. The only change i make is adding a packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix for extra flavor, and i usually let them simmer for a couple hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
it was ok at best. i'd honestly rather make a regular old hamburger. i added onion soup mix and pepperjack cheese and it still ws just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This sandwich was a great surprise! I'm not from the Midwest, and I'd never heard of loose meat sandwiches before. I was trying to use up some ground beef, and I wanted to make something easy but good. I ran across this recipe and had everything on hand. My hubby ate 3 and I could go for a second right now. If you're thinking about it, definitely give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Pretty good... I'm a southern/texan gal and this was a new experience for us. I can best describe this one as a french dip without the dip. The meat came out soft and tender and a nice texture. Flavor was great and it had a hint of the worcestershire flavor. I wouldn't recommend using hamburger buns like I did though as they were really messy and difficult to keep together. I think a sub type sandwich roll would be ideal for serving these. My hubby remarked it needed a sauce to hold it together, but it was good on it's own. I think a sauce would overpower this one. Thanks, this was a nice change from the usual bbq beef or sloppy joe sandwich. I'll most def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States