Loose Meat on a Bun, Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Pretty good but I don't have the memories to go along with this sandwich. I love foods that bring memories though! I thought the meat would have more flavor. With mustard and cheddar to hold all the meat in (messy sandwich), it tasted a little like McDonalds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I found this to be a bit salty. But it was good. Not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This makes a fine sandwich, but it didn't taste anything like the loose meat sandwiches in restaurants. I am from Muscatine, Iowa- the town where the most famous of loose meat sandwiches was invented. Rumor has it that the secret ingredient is root beer. I think I'll add some next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I decided one day that I wanted a loose meat sandwich. (Guess too many Roseanne episodes) and found this recipe. I made no changes to it the first time I made it. Was DELICIOUS! I've tweaked it a little bit along the way, like putting in extra spices. But thats because I like garlic and such. Its great with mustard. And usually I don't like mustard. Thank you for putting up this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orwell, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hartsgrove, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Scaled down recipe for 4 and used beef boullion and water for the broth- left out salt. VERY GOOD. Kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Very good and flavorful! Although we only live about a mile from Maid-Rite (where these sandwiches originated) I've never had a real one. My boyfriend said they were close, and almost better, more flavorful. He also said they almost taste like a white castle burger. He claimed these "make them again good!" so they will be in rotation from now on. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
all i can say is yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I really liked this! My kids were skeptical, they ate one to please me and that was it. lol I think they didn't like the idea of a loose meat sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Gonzalez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Turned out really well as written. The second time I made these I added some powdered mustard (about 1 tsp.) about 1/2 Tbs Dill and 1 sm. (5.5 oz) can of V-8 for a little more flavor. Turned out great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Great version of the loose meat sandwich! Much better if you grill your bun with butter and add Cheese Whiz, just like my local drive in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walnut Ridge, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States