Loose Meat on a Bun, Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My family really enjoyed this. I did double the onions, and it could have used more. My sauce wasn't reducing down much and seemd watery, so I wound up adding about 2 tbsp on flour mixed with water to thicken up the juices just slightly. These were super yummy with lots of pickles and I buttered and toasted our buns. Next time, might even try this on top of rice or noodles instead. We did also add some more seasonings, but this is a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made it just like it called for and my husband and kids really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was awsome, I made it sorta to the directions. I made some beef broth with bulion paste extra thick and added the spices to that and then added some to the cooked meat and put it on hot dog buns melted cheese on top used the extra sauce and made a awsome french dip type sandwich my family goes crazy over love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this as directed except I scaled it to 8 servings so it used 2 lbs of ground beef. Very tasty. My boys ended up putting easy cheese on top. The leftovers were a bit too salty the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These were pretty good. It took longer than stated for the liquid to reduce down, about an extra 45 min. or so. We served these with mustard on bakery fresh dinner rolls. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Love it! I went to Maid Rite for the first time about 2 years ago and found this recipe shortly after. I tend to use about 2 medium white onions though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Excellent nothing else needs to be said. I ate it on toast some how none of it fell out. I added a slice of American cheese I baby dill pickle and some mustard on the sandwich. Will defenitly make this again maybe add some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My kids LOVED these sandwiches. Bought good buns to serve them on and they needed nothing else! It took an hour for my broth to cook off so give yourself some time when preparing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wow, I know why they call this "loose" meat, because after the first bite you lose all the meat into the plate and are left with a bun. I saw this on the AR exchange and had to try it after watching numerouse re-runs of "Rosanne" and the "Landford Lunchbox" featuring this famous sandwich. I added the 1/4 cup of onion to the drained meat. I made my own broth out of beef base for less sodium and used lean beef. I ended up with quite a lot of broth, but used a slotted spoon, and a teaspoon or so on the sandwich was good anyway. I served with hamburger dills pickles and mustard, as suggested. They are a must! I did use the small buns, also as recommended, but regular sized ones would have been better to hold the meat in more likely. Not a repeat recipe, but still interesting to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Love this!!!!!Easy to make and great tast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknprogres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States