Loose Meat on a Bun, Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
4.5 stars. I doubled the onion and added white pepper and just a bit of mustard. Add the onion to the beef when the beef is half brown and be sure to strain the grease off very well. This recipe brings back memories of childhood. Use small soft buns and pickles and mustard ONLY for the true Maid-Rite experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Excellent! It took about an hour to boil down the broth. I've misses Tastee burgers since I left Nebraska-made these and served them with onion rings and the obligatory french onion dip and was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was a good basic recipe for french dip with ground beef. I did add, thyme, rosemary, bay leaf more onion, garlic, Lipton Beefy onion soup, Barefoot red cabernet wine, sherry, white whine. I served it on club rolls with swiss cheese. They turned out great!! Cheaper than buying a roast with the same flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWOMAN2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These are great ~ after years of making sloppy joes, we've switched to these after trying them last month. The only change i make is adding a packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix for extra flavor, and i usually let them simmer for a couple hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Close enough to the Ottumwa, IA to save me from driving 4 hours to get one in person. I did add a tiny smidge of season salt toward the end because it seemed just a tad bland, but other than that - perfect. The key to good loose meat... tiny tiny chunks of meat. Keep stirring it and breaking it up. Use the cheap smaller hamburger buns from the store and (my personal preference) mustard and onions. I will miss the tiny little always crammed counter in Iowa - now, if I could just duplicate those pies...OMG that woman can bake a pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This sandwich was a great surprise! I'm not from the Midwest, and I'd never heard of loose meat sandwiches before. I was trying to use up some ground beef, and I wanted to make something easy but good. I ran across this recipe and had everything on hand. My hubby ate 3 and I could go for a second right now. If you're thinking about it, definitely give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
mmm-mmm GOOD! Basic, simple and so tasty...fast food for hungry families!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Pretty good... I'm a southern/texan gal and this was a new experience for us. I can best describe this one as a french dip without the dip. The meat came out soft and tender and a nice texture. Flavor was great and it had a hint of the worcestershire flavor. I wouldn't recommend using hamburger buns like I did though as they were really messy and difficult to keep together. I think a sub type sandwich roll would be ideal for serving these. My hubby remarked it needed a sauce to hold it together, but it was good on it's own. I think a sauce would overpower this one. Thanks, this was a nice change from the usual bbq beef or sloppy joe sandwich. I'll most def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This reminded my husband of a meal he would eat when he was growing up. (ie Loose meat, corn, pork n beans on a bun). I was good. It's easier to eat on a hot dog bun. It took 1 hour to cook down the liquid, not 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOPONY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Great recipe. After cooking the meat, I put it in the crock pot on low for about 4 hours to keep warm and it had such a great taste and texture. I used left meat the next day for nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States