Loose Meat on a Bun, Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Close enough to the Ottumwa, IA to save me from driving 4 hours to get one in person. I did add a tiny smidge of season salt toward the end because it seemed just a tad bland, but other than that - perfect. The key to good loose meat... tiny tiny chunks of meat. Keep stirring it and breaking it up. Use the cheap smaller hamburger buns from the store and (my personal preference) mustard and onions. I will miss the tiny little always crammed counter in Iowa - now, if I could just duplicate those pies...OMG that woman can bake a pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this as directed except I scaled it to 8 servings so it used 2 lbs of ground beef. Very tasty. My boys ended up putting easy cheese on top. The leftovers were a bit too salty the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Excellent! It took about an hour to boil down the broth. I've misses Tastee burgers since I left Nebraska-made these and served them with onion rings and the obligatory french onion dip and was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
4.5 stars. I doubled the onion and added white pepper and just a bit of mustard. Add the onion to the beef when the beef is half brown and be sure to strain the grease off very well. This recipe brings back memories of childhood. Use small soft buns and pickles and mustard ONLY for the true Maid-Rite experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I have been sooo hungry lately for a good maid rite. OH MY GOSH!!!! This was it--I was full after one but had to have another!! Only enough leftovers for me--too bad family. Even my picky little girl had two helpings (without a bun)and said yummy. Thanks so much for the recipe. Didn't say when to put in the onions so I put them in after draining the meat. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These are great ~ after years of making sloppy joes, we've switched to these after trying them last month. The only change i make is adding a packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix for extra flavor, and i usually let them simmer for a couple hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wow, I know why they call this "loose" meat, because after the first bite you lose all the meat into the plate and are left with a bun. I saw this on the AR exchange and had to try it after watching numerouse re-runs of "Rosanne" and the "Landford Lunchbox" featuring this famous sandwich. I added the 1/4 cup of onion to the drained meat. I made my own broth out of beef base for less sodium and used lean beef. I ended up with quite a lot of broth, but used a slotted spoon, and a teaspoon or so on the sandwich was good anyway. I served with hamburger dills pickles and mustard, as suggested. They are a must! I did use the small buns, also as recommended, but regular sized ones would have been better to hold the meat in more likely. Not a repeat recipe, but still interesting to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I've never had this before and was looking for a new recipe for hamburger. I made it just as written and they weren't bad. My husband said they were "Ok" and all I could really say was they were "different" I'm not sure if I'll make them again but they were ok. incidently, I put a piece of american cheese on the bun and a bit of mustard from another person's suggestions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I haven't had one of these since I was a kid!! Very good and sooo cheap to make!! Agree with the reviewer that said a hotdog bun would be easier to eat it with. Any kind of loose meat sandwich is messy though, or its not LOOSE meat!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I made this for my family's 4th of July celebration and they loved it. I'lil definitely be making this again. Thanks for this awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misspepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States