Loose Meat on a Bun, Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Great recipe. After cooking the meat, I put it in the crock pot on low for about 4 hours to keep warm and it had such a great taste and texture. I used left meat the next day for nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Good. Didn't change anything. My kids ate it with no complaints so that is a plus for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This reminded my husband of a meal he would eat when he was growing up. (ie Loose meat, corn, pork n beans on a bun). I was good. It's easier to eat on a hot dog bun. It took 1 hour to cook down the liquid, not 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOPONY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Definately not a "Made Rite" but still a good sandwich. I added 1 tsp. chili powder and 1 tsp dried mustard. I also decreased the broth to 1 - 14oz. can, and placed all ingredients in the crock pot on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was a good basic recipe for french dip with ground beef. I did add, thyme, rosemary, bay leaf more onion, garlic, Lipton Beefy onion soup, Barefoot red cabernet wine, sherry, white whine. I served it on club rolls with swiss cheese. They turned out great!! Cheaper than buying a roast with the same flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Bambenek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Close enough to the Ottumwa, IA to save me from driving 4 hours to get one in person. I did add a tiny smidge of season salt toward the end because it seemed just a tad bland, but other than that - perfect. The key to good loose meat... tiny tiny chunks of meat. Keep stirring it and breaking it up. Use the cheap smaller hamburger buns from the store and (my personal preference) mustard and onions. I will miss the tiny little always crammed counter in Iowa - now, if I could just duplicate those pies...OMG that woman can bake a pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinyscout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Pretty good... I'm a southern/texan gal and this was a new experience for us. I can best describe this one as a french dip without the dip. The meat came out soft and tender and a nice texture. Flavor was great and it had a hint of the worcestershire flavor. I wouldn't recommend using hamburger buns like I did though as they were really messy and difficult to keep together. I think a sub type sandwich roll would be ideal for serving these. My hubby remarked it needed a sauce to hold it together, but it was good on it's own. I think a sauce would overpower this one. Thanks, this was a nice change from the usual bbq beef or sloppy joe sandwich. I'll most def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This sandwich was a great surprise! I'm not from the Midwest, and I'd never heard of loose meat sandwiches before. I was trying to use up some ground beef, and I wanted to make something easy but good. I ran across this recipe and had everything on hand. My hubby ate 3 and I could go for a second right now. If you're thinking about it, definitely give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
it was ok at best. i'd honestly rather make a regular old hamburger. i added onion soup mix and pepperjack cheese and it still ws just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These are great ~ after years of making sloppy joes, we've switched to these after trying them last month. The only change i make is adding a packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix for extra flavor, and i usually let them simmer for a couple hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States