Loose Meat on a Bun, Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Good sandwich with nice flavor! Served these on whole wheat rolls with mustard. These remind me of the Maid Rites I used to have as a kid when I went to visit my great-grandparents in Iowa. I would love to have one again, since I haven't had one in at least 25 years. As another reviewer suggested, I added 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder. Watch the meat mixture closely toward the end to make sure that the meat does not get dried out. I turned my back and all of a sudden all the liquid was gone. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
We call these Beef Burgers. My family like them a little thicker, so I added some finely crushed Ritz crackers and a little extra water. Other than that, stayed true to the recipe and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
My kids really don't like sloppy joes because of the sweetness I guess. I decided to try these. They were really tasty - very flavorful. I made them exact except I added a 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I didn't think I had in canned beef broth so I had beef granules and made broth with that. I cooked in my electric skillet which evaporate the liquid with 20 minutes of cooking time left. I was going to make up up some more beef granules broth when I discovered two cans of beef broth in the pantry. I added one can to the mixture and continued to cook for the remaining 20 minutes. This is keeper. Oh, and I scaled the recipe for 9 servings and served it on wheat, kaiser rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is an easy and tasty recipe when you have little time and/or energy to cook. The only changes we made was to add some garlic and cajun seasoning to give the meat more flavor. The meat was moist and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cucina di papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
It IS'NT a Maidrite. I grew up eating the real thing with minor variations at school, my grandma's and grt aunts. I'm always looking for the school version, my favorite. The recipe my mom gave me contains vinegar and milk, as well as crumbled bread, and is boiled, never fried. Onion and one swirl of mustard are the only condiments added for authenticity. I will add that recipe later. I gave this a four, good, just not the real thing, which seems to be a secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Great! I used 1/2 onion. Served over french baguettes with provolone. Reserved some of the juice for dipping. Poor man's prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I have never had this and just made it. Cooked my meat with salt, pepper and garlic and onion. Then realized I had no beef broth. I made some onion soup from the dry mix and added that. Yummy....I made Amish bread today (recipe from here) and put the meat on it. Worked well together! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I've never had this before and was looking for a new recipe for hamburger. I made it just as written and they weren't bad. My husband said they were "Ok" and all I could really say was they were "different" I'm not sure if I'll make them again but they were ok. incidently, I put a piece of american cheese on the bun and a bit of mustard from another person's suggestions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I haven't had one of these since I was a kid!! Very good and sooo cheap to make!! Agree with the reviewer that said a hotdog bun would be easier to eat it with. Any kind of loose meat sandwich is messy though, or its not LOOSE meat!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States