Loose Meat on a Bun, Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Scaled down recipe for 4 and used beef boullion and water for the broth- left out salt. VERY GOOD. Kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Very good and flavorful! Although we only live about a mile from Maid-Rite (where these sandwiches originated) I've never had a real one. My boyfriend said they were close, and almost better, more flavorful. He also said they almost taste like a white castle burger. He claimed these "make them again good!" so they will be in rotation from now on. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
all i can say is yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I really liked this! My kids were skeptical, they ate one to please me and that was it. lol I think they didn't like the idea of a loose meat sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Gonzalez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Turned out really well as written. The second time I made these I added some powdered mustard (about 1 tsp.) about 1/2 Tbs Dill and 1 sm. (5.5 oz) can of V-8 for a little more flavor. Turned out great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Great version of the loose meat sandwich! Much better if you grill your bun with butter and add Cheese Whiz, just like my local drive in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walnut Ridge, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I loved them! My husband wasn't a huge fan, but I thought they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I have never had maid rite but IMHO these were pretty good. It did however take over an hour for the liquid to cook down. I ended up cooking it covered after an hour on medium high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by odetobeauty
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
All my boyfriend had to say was "that was awesome." We don't have anything to compare these to, but they were great!! I halfed the recipe and added season salt. They were served on sub buns with mustard and relish . . . yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odetobeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States