Long Island Iced Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
For a real Long Island like at the bar, reduce amounts to 1oz. And increase Tequilla to 1oz. Mix with 5oz of sweet and sour mix and shake well. NEVER,NEVER shake carbonated ingredients. Strain into tall glass and top with cola. My neighbors love it when I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Daddy of 4

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I was a bartender for many years, and the review "Chef daddy of 4" added is the only way I have ever made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I love long islands and this one was no exception. It was great and you have alot of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
CD 4 has the right idea - I've tended for 7yrs now and the perfect way to do it (IMHO) is equal pts vodka, rum, tequila, gin (1z per) 1.5z triple sec, 3.5z sour, splash of cola, transfer from pint to tumbler back to pint. garnish with a lemon. The cola/sour ratio is key in this drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
These were grrrrrrrr8. I did mix equal parts of all four liquors, to make it easier to make a big batch. I also added a splash of sour mix in too for more froth when shaking. I multipled the whole recipe by 4 and made a pitcher, leaving the cola out. Then as my guests needed on, I used a cocktail shaker and shook the 6 ounces of "tea" mix to 2 ounces of cola with crushed ice, shook and served. I do have a touch of a hangover today :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Weiss
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This is a very good drink, although I prefer not to use tequilla and instead of orange juice I use a homemade sweet and sour which is half simple syrup and half fresh squeezed lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sister Lakes, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Oh yea....! One does me in now! I cannot believe that at one time I could drink 5 of these in one night! So glad my parents sent me to university and I joined that sorority!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
The real way to make one is equal parts of all the liquors, most times it's 1/2 oz. I say most times because if you are mixing them in big mason jars then you would use more! NEVER use orange juice or sweet and sour. Just make fresh sweet and sour with lemon juice and simple syrup. I will echo other reviews and say that you should never shake anything carbonated. This is how I make mine behind the bar. 1/2 oz Vodka 1/2 oz Tequila 1/2 oz Triple Sec or cointreau or similar 1/2 oz light rum 1/2 oz Gin 1 oz Lemon Juice (Fresh) 1/2 oz Simple Syrup (1:1 sugar and water) Splash Coke Add all liquors, lemon juice, and syrup into a cocktail tin. Fill a collins glass with ice then your shaker with ice. Shake ingredients for about 10 seconds and strain into the collins glass with ice. Top with coke. Garnish with a lemon and cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I tried it as listed, but it came out too strong but tasteless. What I did was add lime juice and it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy Cruzado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
WOWWW! This tastes exactly like what I used to get in college! Make sure you use a tall glass for this one! A very potent mixer! I used 1 (1.5 fluid ounce) of tequila to match the other liquors. This is such fun - one serving can cover two people nicely! Thanks for the post! We enjoyed this for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Long Island Iced Tea

Watch how to make this tea-free, punch-packing alcoholic drink.

Long Island Iced Tea Cocktail

See how to make a potent cocktail that’s dangerously delicious.

Colorado Bulldog Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender put a cola twist on a White Russian cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States