London Broil II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I cut meat for a living and just thought I should mention here that flank steak is not the same thing as a london broil. There is a top round london broil and a shoulder cut london broil, both of which are very thick cuts (almost like roasts).... A flank steak is entirely different and very thin cut (as the muscle is naturally thin and small).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe! Now, when London Broils are on sale, I buy several, make a big batch of this marinade, let them sit a day or two, then put them in individual freezer ziploc bags, with the marinade. Then, on a busy day, I can just pull out the pre-marinated steaks, defrost, grill, and enjoy! Great time and money saver, and so yummy! Janelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
815 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Very good marinade with a few additions. I read over a couple of reviews that mentioned the meat didn't come out very tender so I added about 3 Tbls of lemon juice to act as a tenderizer. I also added about 2 tsp of worchestershire sauce..(we call it rooster sauce), 2 tsp of fish sauce, 1 tsp of ground ginger, chili sauce instead of ketchup and a tsp of garlic powder. I broiled this instead of grilling (due to the nasty weather) and it turned out really good. My husband had 2 large peices and my 16 month old (who doesn't have all of her teeth) was able to eat this. Will use again. Thanks Jill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
709 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very good steak marinade! Since the title uses "London Broil" and the recipe uses "Flank Steak" I can see where there would be some confusion. I decided to use London Broil because it was on sale. This is definitely a thicker, tougher cut of meat and needs a longer marinating time - 48 hours. I know that seems like a bit much but trust me it will pay off in the end. I used this marinade for 1 & 1/2 pounds of steak. I used kosher salt, low sodium soy sauce, olive oil vs. veg., chili sauce vs. ketchup, and added a splash of white wine vinegar. I put everything into a ziploc bag and let it go, turning it every so often and rubbing the marinade into the meat. After it's grilled to your liking cut against the grain and serve with a baked potato and fresh garden salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Using a london broil vs flank steak (as the recipe indicates) I added 2 tsp of lemon juice to assist in the tenderizing process, then marinated the meat for three days. Definitely more tender than a regular london broil using the marinade.... Next time I'll up the garlic and omit the oregano which overpowered the other flavors in the marinade. Will make again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I've never made london broil before, and this recipe worked great for me. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because I added more garlic - I used 3 Tbsp of minced bottled garlic. I think that was perfect. I marinated the meat for almost 24 hours, and since there was snow outside on our grill ;) I broiled the steak in the broiler for approx. 8 min. per side, and sliced very thin. Take the meat out while it still looks a little too rare, because it will keep cooking, and it definitely is better on the rare side. Overall, excellent marinade. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Wow- this is fantastic! I used London Broil and marinated in a large ziploc bag instead of foil. After grilling I sliced the meat on the diagonal as typical for LB, but really didn't need to. Nice and tender, and oh so tasty! Will definately make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Wow! I only had time to marinate the meat for two hours and it still tasted delicious! I made sure to score and pierce the meat first and then sealed it in a ziploc bag. I cut the salt in half and added a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce. My kids didn't even ask for any steak sauce and they cleaned their plates. I sliced up the leftovers the next day and tossed it a salad with balsamic vinaigrette. Yum!! I'll definitely be making this again only next time I'll marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
Great recipe!!! Would never buy london broil for the grill because it was a tough piece of meat. Made this and had neighbors over, sliced it thin on the slant and it was wonderful!! Went out and bought more steaks for the freezer for the summer. A keeper recipe !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Since others seemed to be confused about the use of flank steak in this london broil recipe,(which by the way was wonderful!..a keeper) this is the definition from wikipedia: London broil is a North American beef dish made by broiling or grilling marinated flank steak, then cutting it across the grain into thin strips. The origin of the name is obscure; the food is unknown in London, England. Many American butchers will label a cut of meat "London broil". This is confusing as the term does not refer to a specific cut of meat, but a method of preparation and cookery. The cut of meat traditionally used is flank steak, but in recent years butchers have erroneously labeled top round roast/steak as London Broil. Because the muscle fibers run the entire length of this cut, the meat can be tough if not tenderized via pounding or massaging. Scoring, stabbing, cutting, penetrating, or otherwise mutilating the cut before sending it into the broiler results in a tougher finished product as it allows all the desirable juices to run out of the meat into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 709) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States