London Broil I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Very good. The answer to the toughness of the cut is that you need to add an acid. I added lemon juice, but you could add vinegar--balsamic would be great. Very nice tasting marinade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I have always been apprehensive about making London Broil due to claims of it being dry and tough after cooking. Well, an unbeatable price forced me to give this recipe a try and all I can say is "WOW"! I was short on cooking time, so mine only got to soak in marinade for about an hour and a half, and I broiled it in my oven about 10 minutes per side instead of grilling outdoors. I did sprinkle the meat with some meat tenderizer before marinating, and let it stand about five minutes after cooking before I sliced it across the grain. It was tender, juicy, delicious and received rave reviews from my dinner guests. I'll never be intimidated by this cut of meat again, thank you so much Char!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Glitter Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
OK...I changed a few things....4 cloves garlic instead of 3, about ONE FOURTH cup soy sause and ONE FOURTH cup worcestshire, about 5 dashes of McCormick Montreal Steak Grill Mates seasoning mixed with the vegetable oil and black pepper. I LEFT OUT THE KETCHUP AND THE OREGANO!!!!! I marinated a London Broil for about 5 hours and MAN OH MAN! IT WAS SSSOOOOOOOOO GREAT! You have GOT to try it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCCBABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
i made a double batch of this for 3.5 pounds of london broil, and marinated overnight. i substituted worcestershire sauce for half of the soy sauce called for, and added a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice to start tenderizing, since i was using a cheap cut of meat. while the meat cooked, i boiled the marinade for about 5-7 minutes, which reduced it to a lovely thick steak sauce. VERY positive reaction from both myself and my husband, and so easy! i love that the ingredients were all things i already had in my pantry or fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I loved this recipe. I did marinate the meat for 3 days in a zip-lock bag and kicked it up a bit with some zesty steak sauce, balsamic vinegar and basically a larger amount of the ingredients listed. I grilled in over a medium flame for about 45 minutes and it was tasty, tender, not mushy and the small amount of leftovers were great on a sandwich. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Wow, this was a winner! This recipe made the best london broil~very easy to do and tasty. My husband couldn't get enough! I cooked it on the George Forman grill for about 8 minutes, which cooked it to a perfect medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great steak marinade! Since the title uses "London Broil" I decided to use "London Broil" because it was on sale. That's definitely a thicker, tougher cut of meat (it's not flank steak) and needs a longer marinating time, about 48 hours. I used this marinade for 1 & 1/2 pounds of steak. I low sodium soy sauce, olive oil vs. veg., chili sauce vs. ketchup, and added a splash of white wine vinegar. I also cut the amount of pepper in half and added 1/4 tsp. of kosher salt. I put everything into a ziploc bag and let it go, turning it every so often and rubbing the marinade into the meat. After grilling I cut it against the grain and it was not only tender and juicy, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Hi, I just wanted to add that there is NO NEED to merinate meat or/& or "score" the meat with a ODD tool- I find it much tastier if you place your meat (in WHATEVER recipe you use, TRUST ME) in a large flat bottom bowl with your merinade mix in bowl with the meat, take JUST 2 forks, and puncture it all the way through to the bottom..ALOT, alternating the forks to make a sponge out of the meat, or using one fork to hold down the meat in a small area and use the free fork to make the punctures and FLIP the meat every so often!! I have actually made a whole cup of marinade ABSORB in to 2 lbs of meat in under 20 min!!!! TRY THAT YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPOINTED! AS AN ADDED BONUS YOU ARE TENDERIZING IT TOO without using an expensive, odd looking or dangerous gadget!!! ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
What a fantastic way to prepare an inexpensive cut of meat! I followed the recipe entirely except for doing 1/4 c. worcestershire sauce and 1/4 c. soy sauce insead of the 1/2 c. soy. I also marinated the meat for a full 24 hours. This came out so flavorful and so tender! I can't believe I paid $1.86 for a steak and loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Such a great flavor! I only marinated the meat for 2 hours, so i'm looking forward to marinating it longer...i'm sure it'll be better. I cooked it on the stove for about 15 minutes on each side. I also sauteed green peppers, onions, and mushrooms and added the marinade to simmer. After slicing the London Broil, I added the sauteed veggies and sauce over the meat and served it with white rice. It was very delicious! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNLCARTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Evans, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

How to Grill Steaks

See the simple trick to grilling tender, juicy steaks every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States