Lomo de Res, Cuban-Style Rib-Eye Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made beef and chicken this way and sliced for fajitas. Awesome. Next time I would marinate a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Wow, wonderful recipe! Thanks! I made it last night and my husband loved it. I don't have a grill, so I had to pan fry the steaks and they turned out very nicely. I made 2 steaks, so I did not use the same amount of ingredients as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I thought the lime was too overpowering, which is weird 'cause I normally love it! I had only marinaded it for 20 minutes. I had added cumin and some sage, but perhaps that's what gave it the gritty aftertaste. Got potential, just needs more tweaking for myself and hubby. Though it was a major hit with the kids. ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I liked it but the Hubby and son said they could taste the beer. Maybe because I used corona which is a bit bitter. Next time I'll use a pale ale and orange slices or juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dookie007
Photo by lori
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
soooooo easy and soooooo good! husband loved it! definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Matthieu Duquette
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Most excellent just the way I have gotten it in the Caribbean and South America. I suggest using Pacifico or Negra Modelo as it has more of the Cuban Bucanero flavor, more nutty than other Lagers. Also don't get rid of your onion once the marinade is done! I use two onions and then sauté them as a side. Also pair with red or black beans and rice. Can't go wrong here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthieu Duquette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Fantastico, gracias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was a really delicious marinade. I added scallions and cilantro to the marinade. It was even better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDACENC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I actually cooked it for my Cuban in-laws and they all loved it! The steak by itself is amazing, but we kicked it up a notch by adding a Creole mojo on top. The recipe for the mojo is as follows: 1. Mash 6 cloves of garlic (we used the whole ones you can get in a plastic jar) and place them in a bowl. 2. Add equivalent to a whole onion (sliced) into the bowl as well - an added secret is to use the onions from the marinade you made for the steaks instead of tossing them out! 3. Add the juice of two limes to the bowl. 4. Heat up two cups of pork-grease or canola oil in a saucepan on high. The key is to COOK IT ON HIGH UNTIL IT BEGINS TO SMOKE! As soon as the oil/grease begins to smoke, remove it from heat and pour it into the bowl you prepared with the garlic, onions, and lime juice! The heat from the hot oil will cook everything and make an awesome topping for the steak! Be careful because it will pop and sizzle when you add it! 5. Let the mixture sit until it cools a little (give it time to cook the onions and garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Too-Fresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Tried this on a friend and it was awesome. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

How to Grill Steaks

See the simple trick to grilling tender, juicy steaks every time.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States