Lomi Lomi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was a hit at our Luau dinner and made for conversation as most had never heard of Lomi Lomi before! I used smoked salmon (and believe me it was plenty salty!) so it worked fine and probably added to the flavor. Left out the sea salt but added rest of the ingredients as listed. Served this as an appetizer with crackers and Tuscan kale leaves cut in 2-3" portions so the Lomi could be eaten rolled up. The kale was the most popular and I felt personally really added to the tastiness of the dish. Thank you Saxony for such a unique recipe. Fun and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This recipe was good, but having learned to prepare this while living in Hawaii, the salmon needs to be raw (if you want to do it by Hawaiian tradition). I learned that there are variations of the ingredients to add or subtract. I prefer it with small diced cucumbers in addition to the mild, sweet white onion, diced green onion, and diced tomatoes. You can experiment with the ingredients to your own liking. You can serve this with any kind of roasted pork. If you could get poi, I would recommend it (however, if you have never had it, don't buy it, because it takes getting used to. Good cooking and MaHolo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Awesome and simple, try it with shrimp and coconut too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoyinWA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suquamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is a lovely and simple recipe. I just squeezed one lemon and a tablespoon of vinagre de Jerez, it come out so tasty. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I never heard of cayenne pepper in this dish. Goes well with lau lau, kalua pig, and poi. You can also make a slider--taro roll, Kalua pig, and Lomi salmon. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
One of my favorite dishes. So easy and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was by far my favorite food from Hawaii. For those like me who have trouble estimating quantities in the grocery store, 2 cups diced salmon is about 12 oz (3 of the 4 oz packages was perfect). I also did not have to add any salt because the salmon was plenty salty for me. I eat this with tortilla chips, with pretzel or pita crackers, or on top of baked polenta. It's a great snack alone with some good cheese and bread as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Wonderful! One of my favorites! Complimented my Kalua Pork BEAUTIFULLY! Any Leftovers Tastes WONDERFUL mixed with whipped Cream Cheese on a Toasted Onion Bagel! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KayKaay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe. I followed other's advise and added lime juice and capers. It really made the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was good. My family never had lomi lomi before but I've had it when I went to Hawaii or when our tahitian dance troupe would have a luau. Real easy to make except I added cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States