Lollipop Cookie Valentines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
a little dry, but very cute idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Very good! They took a bit of time to make from start to finish but were well worth it. I tasted without the white chocolate coating and thought they were dry; but tasting a dipped and cooled cookie I found them to be perfectly crunchy and delicious. The icing didn't set as expected, but I used powdered egg whites instead of the real thing. A 3" heart is much too big; a smaller, 2" is the perfect size for school parties. Thanks for the recipe! I’ll be making more this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
These turned out great, but we changed them a little. I wanted a light dough, so I replaced cocoa with same amount of flour. And we decorated the cookies with royal icing instead of dipping into chocolate. And finally, we made it a lot easier when we cut the cookies 1/4 inch thick instead of 1/8 inch. And instead of craft sticks, we used barbecue skewers inserted directly into the cookie dough before baking. We do many, many cookie bouquets and cookie pops and we never soak our skewers and we've never had a problem. Anyway, thanks for a great recipe, Robin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
These were ok. The cookie by itself was kind of dry and bland. It was better with the chocolate. My 4 year old daughter did like decorating and cutting them out though! I did like how you rolled the dough between the wax paper and froze it for a few minutes, easy and turned out good. I may look for a better chocolate cookie recipe next time though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Etna Green, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I too thought the cookie itself was dry and not very flavorful. Also, I didn't have enough white chocolate to coat the cookies. But I used the conversion chart to double the recipe. I must say though that these all sold within 5 minutes for our PTA fundraiser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
this was an ok recipe. it was the hardest cookie i have ever made. they took me 3 days to make and the recipe was miss leading on how easy they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Made these for the grands for Valentine's day. I agree w/ so many others...w/out the chocolate these were dry & tasteless. (I thought they tasted like cocoa-flavored cardboard). I suspect that the dryness may be necessary to maintain the integrity of the cookie as a lollipop though...if they were moist, they would probably crumble. They looked great & tasted fine after dipping them in the chocolate so I will probably use the recipe again. I sprinkled mine w/ red colored sugar before decorating but no way am I gonna post a pic & put it up next to SugarPlumsCookie's. ;o) Thansk for sharing the recipe Robin...my grands enjoyed them & I had fun making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Great presentation but no so great on taste, plus once I assembled them and everything, nobody wanted to really eat them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These Got very stale fast, but were a hit with the younger kids! ( I did have a little trouble fitting them into their boxes! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jesi_marie
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I give this recipe 5 stars for looks, but 2 stars for taste, i followed this recipe to a T, but alas... I made these for my son's preschool class valentines party, they looked awesome and held together great (i thought for sure they'd fall right off the stick) the kids ate them and enjoyed them. My husband and i love cookies, but not these. I think the recipe calls for to much cocoa, and not enough sugar. The cookies tasted like cocoa powder. They were really hard too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesi_marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make a Cookie Bouquet

Say it with flowers--edible cookie flowers you make yourself!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States