Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
could be better with more milk because it was a little too watery. but i added a little bit of whip cream on top which made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
While I've drank plenty, this was my first attempt at making horchata and I must say, I am pleased with the result. After reading too many reviews and too many other recipes, I settled on this one. As with some other reviewers, I used a long grain BROWN rice, blended the rice with 2 cups of water with 2 broken cinnamon sticks for about 30 seconds. Then added the 3 remaining cups of water. I use a Vitamix so I used care not to pulverize it too much. My rice, water, cinnamon blend actually sat overnight and a workday in the refrigerator. I used evaporated milk and reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup using turbinado sugar. I love cinnamon and vanilla (Mexican blend) so I added double the suggested amount. Because my mixture was cold, I put it all back in the blender for a few seconds to help the sugar dissolve. It went back in the fridge for another overnight. Seems like too long to wait, I know. But it was well worth it. For health reasons, I will stop consuming dairy products so the next time I make it I will use Almond milk. This way, I won't feel deprived of the a sweet "dairy" treat! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This recipe is good but if you add 8 ounces of evaporated milk it makes it richer and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Using Serena's adaptations, I enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made this recipe and it tasted too watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I thought this was very good but too sweet. I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was still too sweet. The only other change I made was that I used almond milk instead of regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This recipe is perfect!!!I used half a cup of half and half in place of milk and then added a can of evaporated milk. It came out delicious!! It's rich, creamy and refreshing. Tastes just like the Horchata I grew up drinking in Mexico :)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
My son loves Horchata. His Spanish class (4th grade) made it one day and he didn't like so he volunteered to bring some in. We searched for a recipe...decided on this one and it was a HIT!! All his classmates loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Just made this - didn't like it at all. First, they say to mix the water and rice together but there is too much water to break the rice down properly in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This recipe was flavorful and refreshing. As stated in the video, using cinnamon sticks will greatly improve this recipe for the ground cinnamon tends to rise or fall after about 5 minutes and the flavor is intensified by the fusing of flavored from the whole sticks. I personally added less sugar (about half a cup) just because the 2/3 cups was a bit too much for me. This was an overall great recipe that always left me smiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States