Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I've never made horchata before, but this recipe was fab! A little sweet, but cutting down on the sugar solves that problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I took Serena's advice and added more rice and changed up the recipe a little. I used Jasmati rice, which gave the horchata a slightly floral hint in the undertones, plus I put in ground cinnamon instead of the cinnamon sticks. Throughout the time it sat out at room temperature, I would periodically pulse the blender and mix everything back up again. When it was done, I put it through a Greek yogurt strainer, which got out quite a bit of the excess cinnamon so it wasn't so sludgy on the bottom. I also used extra vanilla (probably 2 or 3 tablespoons) and more milk. Next time I'm going to try cardamom in the mix to see what that does. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzi m

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this for my family and everyone loved it! I actually ran out and covertly replaced it with some Kern's Boxed Horchata. My oldest daughter (6) tasted it (the Kern's) and said "Eww - this doesn't taste good". But my wife couldn't tell the difference. I really liked it too. Excellent rice and cinnamon flavor. The vanilla and milk set this recipe apart from other recipes. However, I modified the recipe a little: Used 1 c. of water with the 1c of rice in the blender. I added a cinnamon stick to the blender and omitted the ground cinnamon. I added 3 more cups of water (not 4) once pulverized. I stirred it up and let it soak overnight and all day in the fridge. I added 1/2 c. sugar and mixed it in. I didn't have a cheesecloth so I just used two bowls to drain off the rice water, preserving the water and throwing away the stuff left in the bottom. I repeated this step 4 times. I noticed some sugar in the crud so maybe next time I will add the sugar later. I increased the milk to 1 c. Added 1/2 t. vanilla and served over ice. I only got about 2 cups of horchata (before milk) from my 4c. of rice water, but maybe I would have had more if I had used a cheesecloth. No rice grit in the final product. Very smooth and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Really good. Add a can of evaporated milk as well and it will be as good as you can find at any Mexican home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
could be better with more milk because it was a little too watery. but i added a little bit of whip cream on top which made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
While I've drank plenty, this was my first attempt at making horchata and I must say, I am pleased with the result. After reading too many reviews and too many other recipes, I settled on this one. As with some other reviewers, I used a long grain BROWN rice, blended the rice with 2 cups of water with 2 broken cinnamon sticks for about 30 seconds. Then added the 3 remaining cups of water. I use a Vitamix so I used care not to pulverize it too much. My rice, water, cinnamon blend actually sat overnight and a workday in the refrigerator. I used evaporated milk and reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup using turbinado sugar. I love cinnamon and vanilla (Mexican blend) so I added double the suggested amount. Because my mixture was cold, I put it all back in the blender for a few seconds to help the sugar dissolve. It went back in the fridge for another overnight. Seems like too long to wait, I know. But it was well worth it. For health reasons, I will stop consuming dairy products so the next time I make it I will use Almond milk. This way, I won't feel deprived of the a sweet "dairy" treat! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This recipe is good but if you add 8 ounces of evaporated milk it makes it richer and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Using Serena's adaptations, I enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made this recipe and it tasted too watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States