Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
PERFECTO! I am picky when it comes to Horchata, but this recipe is right on. Great refreshing drink for those summer days. Highly recommended. Way to go Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was ok, I am mexican and I know my horchata. This was a little watery than I remember, and the horchata I know is a little more filling. This was more like sweet water. It was good though, my husband liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyHubbysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I thought this horchata was really good. I love horchata and I just always figured it would really hard to make. I'm such a terrible cook but this recipe worked for me. I was really surprised. It came out tasting just like horchata from the mom and pop taquerias. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This tastes like sweet, cinnamon water. It is light brown in color...not very appetizing. I think I will keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Best horchata recipe Ive tried, but I would use 1/2 as much sugar and if it's not sweet enough add more sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This tasted good. There was a little too much cinnamon for our liking and you could feel it scratch your throat as you drank it. Otherwise, it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
My family loves horchata and we drink it all the time in restaurants so I was excited about making it at home. However, I'm not really thrilled with how it turned out. I only used a half a cup of sugar and it was still really sweet, like horchata is sapposed to be. The problem with this recipe is the cinnamon. The drink turns out brown, not white like in the picture. And I had to skim a lot of cinnamon off the top because it wouldn't blend in. The taste was pretty much right on, just a little more watery then we're used to. I'm going to experiment with boiling cinnamon sticks in the water and then blending it with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
this is an awesome recipe i made one change because i am diabetic and that was i used splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very good, taste just like traditional horchata. I added a little more extract then the receipe called for. Next time I will stick to the receipe. wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is the best horchata recipe I have ever found. I found that ground cinnamon floats on the top so I let 2 cinnamon sticks soak with the rice and water for 3 hours. Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
492 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States