Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
i followed this recipe down to the t and I LOVE IT!!! i hate that i have to wait a while since you have to let it sit for a bit, but its worth it! my bf practically has to beg me to make it! we compare it to king tacos since that where they make our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KillerQueen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Puente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Saw another reviewer used COOKED RICE and did not strain it.. has anyone else tried this? Don't want to waste anything.. and I don't like rice pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Good recipe! In the absence of a blender, we used a food processor to chop the rice. It didn't work terribly well, but our horchata still tasted lovely after three hours of sitting. Next time we'll use a blender for the rice and use whole milk instead of skim for a richer drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RibbonMunky

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Easy to make and delicious. A million times better than the powder mixes! It's as good as the stuff the local mercado makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was much better than OK, but not great. I don't have white rice in the house, just brown, so that's what I used. I decreased the sugar, but it was still a bit too sweet. My husband liked it but said it was thin, so I'll adjust here and there - little less sugar, more milk or try a milk/cream mixture. I am also going to try it with homemade almond milk (1/4 c. almonds to 1 c. water in the blender) and use a bit of agave nectar instead of the white sugar. Definitely a keeper with a few tweaks. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwbrenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
AWESOME!! Turned out great! I changed slightly based on previous reviews. I put in 1 1/3 cups rice along with 2 cups of water and a heaping half tablespoon of ground cinnamon and blended for a few minutes. Then I added the last 3 cups of water. Let it sit in the fridge overnight. I strained the mixture with a cheesecloth then put liquid back in pitcher and added 1/3 cup of sugar and a splash on vanilla and a whole cup of milk. Served in a glass with ice. Went over terrific! Best Horchata I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I dont know if I did something wrong; i dont think so; but the flavor was not to my liking. I let it soak overnight hoping it would be better, but in my opinion it tasted better when I only let it soak for 3-4 hours. Also, this is way too much water; the flavor is immensely watery. I wouldlike to try making it again and find a way to perfect the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnhoward

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Narrows, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
was really good but by the second day in the fridge it got all gooey and i had to throw it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I'm a terrible cook... but this was delicious! :D Thanks for sharing, all my other attempts without a recipe were fails, haha...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States