Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My sugar didn't dissolve, should've made a syrup first. but still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Great drink. I changed it a little, but this is a fabulous base recipe. As suggested by another reviewer, I used whole cinnamon sticks instead. I mixed 1 1/3 cup rice, 2 cinnamon sticks, and 2 cups a water in a blender and blended. Then I added 3 more cups of water and blended a whole lot more. I poured it all into a pitcher and let it soak overnight--the time came out to about 17 hours by the time I got around to finishing it. I strained the mixture, then doubled the milk and added it. I actually more than doubled it just to finish off the jug--so about 1 1/3 cups. I used only 1% milk and I might use less if it was 2% or whole milk. Then I added 1/2 tbsp of vanilla like instructed which was plenty. I added half the sugar and tasted it--way not sweet--so I added the other half. I think it's a little too sweet for me now so I might just do 1/2 cup of sugar next time instead of 2/3 and see how that goes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
My kids love this stuff. It is great and refreshing--just like the ones they sell at Mexican restaurants. Will make over and over again. Thanks, Lola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is a great horchata recipe, and I always drink horchata at mexican restaurants. I increased the serving size to 10, and the pitcher was still only 2/3 full. I would recommend substituting the cinnamon for cinnamon sticks. Just put about 3 cinnamon sticks in the rice/water mixture and let that sit for as long as you can (I did 7 hours). The longer it sits, the better flavor you get. Followed the rest of the recipe to a tee (used 2% milk), and its great... you can really taste the cinnamon, and you don't have to worry about what all the other reviewers complain about -- cinnamon floating on the top and not mixing in. :) With the cinnamon sticks, there's no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
First up, I'd just like to say that this is a fantastic recipe. However, there is one thing I'd change, and that's the amount of cinnamon used. 1/2 Tablespoon is WAY too much. I used 1/2 a teaspoon, mixed it up in the blender, and scooped off the excess cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Wonderful. So easy and so refreshing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I've never had a horchata before; now I will whenever I have a chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Recipe came out very good, a little too much cinnamon - instead of 1 TBSP, try 1 tsp. I refrigerated horchata for about 6 hrs then strained through a cheesecloth twice. MUCH BETTER THAT WAY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I put the rice, water, and cinnamon in the blender together. If I have cinnamon sticks, I let them soak in the water after I blend. Cheese cloth works perfect. I lay it in my strainer and pour the rice-water into a jug afterwards and finish the final touches then. :-) Pefecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made this horchata for christmas for the very first time. it came out PERFECT!! My husband loved it!!! & his friends came over that night and they all asked me for the recipe! They said it was Delicious! I didn't change it the recipe at all! It taste just like mexican horchata!! Thanks for sharing Lola! xoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crissyEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States