Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I make this all the time. We like creamier hochata so we add a lot of milk and I do add a little more rice. I also let it soak over night that way it gets more flavor and the cinnamon doesn't seem so gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenellesmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I loved it, the rest of my family not so much - but I didn't make it for them :) I did double the cinnamon, because I love it so much, and halved the sugar for the second batch, and I loved it even more, but my family still didn't like it, their loss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Yummy. Made this using suggestions by Serena and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
i would rate this 5 stars but PLEASE use cinnamon sticks. I thought it didn't matter but it makes a HUGE difference. Also make sure you use long grain rice. The long grain rice blends very nicely with my oster blender. The better blending (I blended mine 2-3 times) of the rice the thicker the horchata. I practically did not strain out ANYTHING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Strickland09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The flavor of this is so good. I only gave it 4 stars because my husband and i think that it is a litte to thin. I will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I LOVE Horchata, but I had never made it before. I was really excited to come across this recipe! Upon the suggestion of other reviewers, I used 2 cinnamon sticks instead of the ground cinnamon. I love the cinnamon flavor and this adds so much to it. Also, I let mine soak overnight in the fridge instead of a couple of hours before I strained it. Soooooo worth it, because it was soooo good. Needless to say, I did not realize making it from scratch was so easy. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent! My inlaws will never believe that this "white girl" made this! So excited to serve it at our next family function!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Delicious and ohhhh soooo simple! I will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Went over very well at our taco bar. People couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I have never had horchata before, so I can't speak to the authenticity of this recipe. However, I am fully prepared to tell you that this is DELICIOUS! I took the advice of other reviewers and soaked two cinnamon sticks with the rice. I also cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup. This was sweet enough for me! Very delicious recipe -- one I will absolutely make in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States