Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is a great horchata recipe, and I always drink horchata at mexican restaurants. I increased the serving size to 10, and the pitcher was still only 2/3 full. I would recommend substituting the cinnamon for cinnamon sticks. Just put about 3 cinnamon sticks in the rice/water mixture and let that sit for as long as you can (I did 7 hours). The longer it sits, the better flavor you get. Followed the rest of the recipe to a tee (used 2% milk), and its great... you can really taste the cinnamon, and you don't have to worry about what all the other reviewers complain about -- cinnamon floating on the top and not mixing in. :) With the cinnamon sticks, there's no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
First up, I'd just like to say that this is a fantastic recipe. However, there is one thing I'd change, and that's the amount of cinnamon used. 1/2 Tablespoon is WAY too much. I used 1/2 a teaspoon, mixed it up in the blender, and scooped off the excess cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Wonderful. So easy and so refreshing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Culp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I've never had a horchata before; now I will whenever I have a chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Recipe came out very good, a little too much cinnamon - instead of 1 TBSP, try 1 tsp. I refrigerated horchata for about 6 hrs then strained through a cheesecloth twice. MUCH BETTER THAT WAY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I put the rice, water, and cinnamon in the blender together. If I have cinnamon sticks, I let them soak in the water after I blend. Cheese cloth works perfect. I lay it in my strainer and pour the rice-water into a jug afterwards and finish the final touches then. :-) Pefecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I made this horchata for christmas for the very first time. it came out PERFECT!! My husband loved it!!! & his friends came over that night and they all asked me for the recipe! They said it was Delicious! I didn't change it the recipe at all! It taste just like mexican horchata!! Thanks for sharing Lola! xoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crissyEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
It was really yummy however when I first made it and drank it it just tasted really dirty so the second time I made the horchata I washed the rice throughly and then blended it and it was much better but besides that it was very similar to my grandmothers and hers is amazing!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I carefully read through dozens of reviews so I could make this as tasty as possible. I used the coffee grinder to grind the rice and it doesn't take very using this technique FYI. I grinded the rice with cinnamon as well. I let it soak all evening before straining the rice water and adding in the rest of the ingredients... I also just added sugar to taste per recommendations. I also had 3/4 of a half gallon of whole milk around so i just dumped it all in the pitcher and sweetened to taste. Pretty simple and quite refreshing! Oh and use a coffee filter for the rice mixture, SO much less hassle then straining the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was awesome. I would probably put in less cinnamon but definitely double this recipe! Delicious and just right! I did let mine site overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States