Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Really good! Followed a reviewer's suggestions and blended the cinnamon sticks with the rice and water, and cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup (which was plenty, and I like sweetness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I worked at an authentic Mexican restaurant for a long time and became hooked on the horchata they made there. I doubled this recipe and used a little less sugar. I also put the cinnamon into the blender with the water and rice to steep overnight and strained it in a very fine strainer and found that it worked very well. (you could even strain it through a T-shirt, I became used to the grainy cinammon and don't mind a bit of it in the horchata though.) I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Awesome! I make this recipe daily when my Mexican in-laws are around. I just made it again today for probably the 50th time and didn't have milk so I used 2 cans of evaporated milk, you can use any milk product like soy, almond, etc. I usually like to soak cinnamon sticks with the rice but if you add ground cinnamon with the rice soaking (sometimes for a couple days if I forget) in the fridge and you get the flavor but you won't get the powder floating and choking you as you drink since most of it strains out with the rice. I've used sweetened condensed milk for more richness, no need for any additional sugar then. I've made this so many times now and the recipe is so forgiving, as long as you soak the rice, add whatever else of milk, sugar, and spices to taste. Also best when served frothy, use a wisk or beaters or I put it in a bottle with ice and shake well just before serving. And I always keep the leftover rice to make arroz con leche/rice pudding. Many recipes for it on this site, but just boil the rice to tender in some combination of milk/water/evaporated milk (obviously I'm not one for measuring, I add several cups to make it soupy then boil it down) and add milk/cream/sweet condensed milk and sugar, simmer to thicken, and vanilla/cinnamon/cloves to taste at the end. Thanks Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I did what a few reviewers did and ground my rice in a coffee grinder then blended it with 2 sticks of cinnanon. We also changed out 1 cup water for 1 cup 2% milk because we like ours 'creamier'. The trick to getting full-flavor horchata FASTER is to mix the milk and vanilla in with the ground rice when it sits overnight then strain and add in 1/3 cup sugar (2/3 was waay too much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe was perfect! The others I've read seemed too time consuming and fancy. I just wanted what I could get at a typical cheap and fast taqueria and imagined they didn't want to take 8+ hours for a batch. This came out soooo good! Just as I remembered from the magical first try over a decade ago :) Thanks Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Well this was an interesting recipe and fun to try... I added the cinnamon to the rice in the blender to flavor the water but strain it clear... It did seem to work and it come out clear... I ended up adding a little extra milk and cutting back on the sugar.. It did seem to turn out good though... Who would have thought to make a drink from rice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I followed Serena's suggestions using 1c vanilla almond milk in place of regular milk, and it turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbettell20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
We like this, especially when adding a shot of rum to it! One of us is diabetic so we used soy milk and Splenda and it was just as tasty. The only problem I encountered was that I don't have a blender. I used my food processor and it made a terrible mess! Not deep enough I guess. I also cut back on the cinnamon just a titch, but that's a personal preference thing. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States