Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This recipe was flavorful and refreshing. As stated in the video, using cinnamon sticks will greatly improve this recipe for the ground cinnamon tends to rise or fall after about 5 minutes and the flavor is intensified by the fusing of flavored from the whole sticks. I personally added less sugar (about half a cup) just because the 2/3 cups was a bit too much for me. This was an overall great recipe that always left me smiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
It was good. Close to most that I've b4. It's even better if u let it sit over night (in fridge).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Good, easy recipe. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parrothead25

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Actually... this isn't a Mexican beverage, but rather originates in Andalucia, Spain during the Moorish occupation between the eighth to thirteenth centuries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miguel Hortiguela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was my first shot at making Horchata and I absolutely loved it! This recipe is amazing, simple and delicious. A friend introduced the great drink to me at one of our local taco shops and I fell in love with it on the spot, I'm glad I have a fun and easy way to make it at home with my son now. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Totally Fantamazingsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! I have made it twice the first time it was only "ok" until I realized that I forgot to add the vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Followed top rated review came.out perfect only thing i changed was sugar i used all it called for and next time.doube recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was delicious! I used reviewer Serena's modifications, and I couldn't have been more pleased. Just the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My daughter, the horchata fan in the family, loved this! I made mine with double the milk, since I used FF, and when I ground up the rice (1/2 brown and 1/2 white because that's what I had) in the blender I also added 2 large cinnamon sticks in lew of the ground cinnamon (I doubled the entire recipe to make a gallon) and added a few (maybe 7-10?) whole allspice. Next time I'll add probably 2 more cinnamon sticks, since I can't get enough. But my daughter loves it as is. And I just topped off the pitcher with water. Oh and I used 1c of Splenda in place of the sugar. Thank you for this recipe! Now I'm making rice pudding with the strained rice/spice mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States