Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The horchata was great my kids loved it! I made a double batch and used on cup of sugar and it was a bit sweet so next time Ill cut back on it alittle. I did use cinnamon sticks in and blended them with the rice instead of the ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Too much sugar; use half what it calls for. I used 1 cup milk (and 1/2 cup less water) than it said so it wasn't so watery. Cinnamon is perfect amount; I splashed a bit more vanilla in. I blended the sugar and cinnamon in with the rice and liquid so that it blended better. There was still sediment at the bottom after straining though. But SO tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Loo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Electric Daisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Perfect! A little bit too much cinnamon for me, so I used substantially less. But everything else was spot on, and perfect directions, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Wonderful! I decided to heat the milk and blend it with the cinnamon. I chilled the milk mixture while the rice was soaking. The hubby loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gil's wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This tastes great! After u let the cinnamon steep (i used grounded), just let it rise to the top , scoop it out and the next layer is nice and pure and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Law

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
LOVE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
oh my, this is a nice drink. I made it three times this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Lola, I love you. Thank you so much for this simple recipe! I use less water, more milk, two sticks of cinnamon, sweeten to taste and leave to sit overnight now that I've experimented more. I've made this so often, I don't feel the need to measure anymore. I've tried this recipe, following it to a T, and that's what the four star rating is based on. I've just perfected it to suit my tastes! Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
this is the perfect horchata
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarBump

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States