Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I made it with 1 large can of evaporated milk and also added 1/2 tsp + of almond extract. Delicious!!! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Doubled the milk but it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Great! Just like the one i'm used to. I added a teeny pinch of salt and condensed milk. Im used to the floating cinnamon... tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I found this recipe a little too watery and not enough rice flavor. I followed one of the reviewers advice and doubled the amount of milk (used 1 cup), used an extra 1/3 c of rice, and soaked overnight. Also, the amount of ground cinnamon was too much (as some reviewers had mentioned) so it didn't blend well. Next time, I would use warmed or boiled water to soak the rice in (to bring out more flavor) and use half the amount of cinnamon. Also, I would consider using a little more milk to make it a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The horchata was great my kids loved it! I made a double batch and used on cup of sugar and it was a bit sweet so next time Ill cut back on it alittle. I did use cinnamon sticks in and blended them with the rice instead of the ground cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Too much sugar; use half what it calls for. I used 1 cup milk (and 1/2 cup less water) than it said so it wasn't so watery. Cinnamon is perfect amount; I splashed a bit more vanilla in. I blended the sugar and cinnamon in with the rice and liquid so that it blended better. There was still sediment at the bottom after straining though. But SO tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Loo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Electric Daisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Perfect! A little bit too much cinnamon for me, so I used substantially less. But everything else was spot on, and perfect directions, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Wonderful! I decided to heat the milk and blend it with the cinnamon. I chilled the milk mixture while the rice was soaking. The hubby loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gil's wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This tastes great! After u let the cinnamon steep (i used grounded), just let it rise to the top , scoop it out and the next layer is nice and pure and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Law

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States