Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
It's okay, but not the best horchata I have ever had. I am looking for an authentic old fashioned homemade recipe and this is easy but not that special taste I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I've spent most my life in Arizona, and horchata is so good on a hot day. This recipe is tasty and so easy! I've made it as written (make sure you use whole milk for best flavor), and have also made it with vanilla soy milk (VERY yummy!). I add the cinnamon to the rice before soaking...it seams to incorporate into the liquid better that way, instead of floating on the top. I don't know how well this keeps in the refrigerator, because there's never any left over! Thank you Lola for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
A big hit whenever I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is the second best horchata I have ever had!! Letting the rice sit longer makes the horchata better. One thing I did was substitute about a teaspoon of cinnamon flavoring instead of real cinnamon. I also added one cinnamon stick to it, and I only put a pinch of cinnamon in it for color. Why I did this is because the cinnamon was sticking to my throat when I drank it, which was very unpleasant. Thank you so much for the superb recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe is awesome. Except that when I came across it after dinner, it just so happened that I had over a cup of COOKED rice left. So I stuck it in a blender with a cup of water and blended it REALLY well. Then I followed the rest of the instructions, using more sugar and way more milk, and I never even strained anything- it worked out AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
very easy and tasty. too much cinnamon and vanilla in my opinion. could use 1 or 1/2 tsp and it would have enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
MMMMM.......GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Great to use as a base recipe. Instead of using ground cinnamon, I used 2 cinnamon sticks, that I blended with the rice and water and soak. I soaked it overnight (almost a full 24 hours at room temp). I added more milk about 1 cup but I used 1% and used 1/3 cup + 2 tbsp sugar (probably could have gone only 1 additional tbspof sugar and been okay - its a little sweet for my liking) but 2/3 cup is WAY too sweet. Great recipe and since I used cinnamon sticks instead of ground, it was a beautiful milky white color. YUM!!! Will definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
i saw all the reviews and thought this would be great but its not. its WAAAAY to watery and had way too much vanilla in it. i thought the sugar content was "ok"as was the cinnamon but everything else was off. you have to make changes to EVERYTHING ELSE in order for it to be good. after making it i know exactly what to tweek (which is everything) and it will come out good but as far as this recipe and directions... look at the sugestions from all the reviews or you will be dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
WAY too much cinnamon. Second try with less cinnamon would get 5 stars, but the original gets four for this reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States