Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe was extremely watery. I let the rice sit overnight and doubled the milk and it still wasn't the same consistency as horchata I have had in the past. Not to mention the cinnamon globe that form from the ground cinnamon. That is easily remedied by soaking a cinnamon stick with the rice, but, again, the texture was off on this. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I thaught that this tasted very good. I have only had this at a local restaraunt and this tastes just a little sweeter. I will be making it alot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This recipe is okay. It's decent, slighty sweet. Let the rice really soak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Taste just like the ones I would get back in AZ! I have made it exactlly as written and I have also follow reviewers changes about using cinnamon sticks and reducing the sugar by 1/2. I liked them both, I will make like the reviews say though just cause I didn't miss the sugar, it still tasted great and using the cinnamon sticks made it so the cinnamon didn't clump together in the pitcher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I thought this was amazing! I am so glad I can make horchata myself. I do recommend blending the rice a little longer and letting it sit overnight. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Good, but has a little too much vanilla. Cut the vanilla back and this recipe would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was so good once I followed some suggestions. I tried a few different batches. The best was using the cinnamon sticks (2 for the full recipe). You blend the water and rice together and let it break up a lot. Then put in 2 cinnamon sticks and let it sit in the refrigerator for 6 hours or more. Then strain it out using a colander. I added a bit more milk to taste, maybe only 2Tbs. And I used less sugar, only about a half a cup. Some other recipes call for almonds or almond extract. I found that the almond is a bit too over powering. Overall, this is great, I love Horchata!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Cinnamon Stick!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeloVlog

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
EASY!!!! i loved this recipe i love horchate but i changed adding ground cinnamon and had 2 cinnamon sticks soak with the rice water so i didnt have to swallow ground cinamon but other than that i loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I love this! The whole family loved this! I will probably make it again today, this time with cinnamon sticks like some of the reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States