Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
this was great easy and fun i used a cinnamon stick and heavy cream it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Marano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Horchata is my wife’s favorite drink so I made it on a hot summer afternoon as a surprise. I love the recipe – it is simple and delicious but too sweet for my taste. The second time I made it I added about half of the suggested sugar and it was about right – great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
We have never had "authentic" Horchata so I can't compare it, however, we absolutely love this drink. My wife insists that a jug be kept in the refrigerator from June until fall. We first had a Rum Chata and since we couldn't buy it in Canada I went looking for a recipe. Thank you so much Lola, the only changes I have made to your recipe are to add the cinnamon to the rice and then strain both through a piece of cheesecloth in my strainer. This keeps the floating bits down. When it goes into the jug I add a cinnamon stick to the mix and just leave it in the jug in the fridge. I also use 50/50 white long grain rice and Basmatti since it is what we usually keep in the house. The last addition for a warm summer evening is an ounce or two (depending upon your glass size) of spiced rum, we like Sailor Jerry's but any will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Highbrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
A couple things: For authentic mexican taste, use canela sticks aka spanish cinnamon (available at your local latino market). I did a couple batches simultaneously. Like other users, I opted to use a can of evaporated milk in this recipe instead of the milk called for. To strain, you can use jelly bags or a fine sieve. I tossed the recipe together in my slow cooker and let it do its' thing all day, blitzed part-way through with my immersion blender, and strained. It was nice and thick and creamy, so this way you can add water till its the texture you like, and let people do their own sugar so they're happier with the resulting beverage. I also did a batch of this in a solar oven sans milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Delicious. I use 1 teaspoon cinnamon and blend it in with the rice. Three hours is not long enough to soak, though. I recommend soaking overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
our first ever taste of Horchata and it was great! We'll use the cinnamon sticks next time, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe! It's actually better than what you find in a Mexican restaurant because they tend to water it down a bit to stretch it out. Nothing is better than this on a hot summer day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ
Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Very good recipe!...I used Jasmine rice with this recipe and it came out very good!...also I found that you really don't have to wait 3 hours...I waited 1 hour and 30 minutes and it still had a very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yamira

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious! so much tastier than the slimy restaurant versions I've had. I have made it 2x now, cutting back on the sugar to 1/2 c, and adding in lime zest instead of vanilla. I love this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Best Horchata out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States