Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
AWESOME!! Turned out great! I changed slightly based on previous reviews. I put in 1 1/3 cups rice along with 2 cups of water and a heaping half tablespoon of ground cinnamon and blended for a few minutes. Then I added the last 3 cups of water. Let it sit in the fridge overnight. I strained the mixture with a cheesecloth then put liquid back in pitcher and added 1/3 cup of sugar and a splash on vanilla and a whole cup of milk. Served in a glass with ice. Went over terrific! Best Horchata I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I dont know if I did something wrong; i dont think so; but the flavor was not to my liking. I let it soak overnight hoping it would be better, but in my opinion it tasted better when I only let it soak for 3-4 hours. Also, this is way too much water; the flavor is immensely watery. I wouldlike to try making it again and find a way to perfect the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnhoward

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Narrows, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
was really good but by the second day in the fridge it got all gooey and i had to throw it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I'm a terrible cook... but this was delicious! :D Thanks for sharing, all my other attempts without a recipe were fails, haha...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
As others suggested...I soaked cinna sticks with rice and reduced sugar. It turned out great. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breleficent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Delicious and easy to make. I used soy milk instead of regular, and it came out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I have made this recipe two days in a row. I made a few adjustments. First, I soaked the rice over night in four cups water, one can evaporated milk, 1 tsp vanilla extract, and two cinnamon sticks. Then, I blended the mixture. I have found that evaporated milk really brings out the flavor of the horchata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
this was great easy and fun i used a cinnamon stick and heavy cream it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Marano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Horchata is my wife’s favorite drink so I made it on a hot summer afternoon as a surprise. I love the recipe – it is simple and delicious but too sweet for my taste. The second time I made it I added about half of the suggested sugar and it was about right – great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
We have never had "authentic" Horchata so I can't compare it, however, we absolutely love this drink. My wife insists that a jug be kept in the refrigerator from June until fall. We first had a Rum Chata and since we couldn't buy it in Canada I went looking for a recipe. Thank you so much Lola, the only changes I have made to your recipe are to add the cinnamon to the rice and then strain both through a piece of cheesecloth in my strainer. This keeps the floating bits down. When it goes into the jug I add a cinnamon stick to the mix and just leave it in the jug in the fridge. I also use 50/50 white long grain rice and Basmatti since it is what we usually keep in the house. The last addition for a warm summer evening is an ounce or two (depending upon your glass size) of spiced rum, we like Sailor Jerry's but any will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Highbrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States