Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I doubled the recipe and found it delicious. I read the many reviews and eliminated what I saw to be the biggest concern...,floating cinnamon, by boiling a stick in the teapot. Made the house smell festive and no floaties. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jarrod Golden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I made it exactly how the recipe says. Only changes I will make next time is let the rice sit for at least 5 hours not 3. You just don't get the full rice flavor horchata is suppose to have after only 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Yumm! Used 1 1/3 rice & 2 cinnamon sticks & soaked it overnight, then proceeded with recipe. The only thing U really did differently was that I blended it again near the end, and blended in the sugar too. o problem with undissolved sugar or straining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Excellent overall recipe, though your best bet is to do 1 cup of Milk instead of 1/2, due to making it a bit thicker, it'll absorb the cinnamon a bit better. In all honesty, you gotta try it. It's an easy, quick, honest-to-goodness foolproof recipe if you follow it to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan Burakki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I moved from California to Scotland and there is no chance I'll find horchata unless I make it. I actually ran to the store and bought a juice jug that fits my refrigerator door just so I can make a tripple recipe and keep it chilled. I intend on drinking this everyday for months! It's so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Phoenix
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Very tasty! I made a few changes based on what we had in the pantry- brown jasmine rice instead of white, 1/4 cup simple syrup instead of sugar and 3 small cinnamon sticks instead of ground. I added the cinnamon sticks to the rice water combination (as the video for this recipe recommends) and let it sit in the fridge overnight. Strained in the morning, served that evening. I love the cinnamon flavor! Overall, it's a nice light and refreshing beverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I too followed the suggestions made by Serena and we loved this Horchata for Cinco de Mayo. It doesn't make a lot so if you want your guests to enjoy a tall glass with ice, double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Tasted boring. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Yum!!! I took the advice of others and used used cinnamon sticks in lieu of ground, I threw the rice and 2 cups of water and the cinnamon sticks in my ninja blender to blend the rice then added remaining water, let it sit 24 hrs in the fridge, used simple syrup to replace the sugar (easier to blend) and it's amazing!! The cinnamon taste is so subtle and it's not overly sweet, thank you Lola for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I used 1/2 the sugar. I made a horchata chai tea just by simmering some on the stove and then steeping a tea bag in it for about 5 minutes. Yummy! A friend tried some and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States