Lola's Ethereal Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe but I would definitely make a few changes. It was a bit bland. I didn't think the boullion had enough punch to make a difference in the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Head

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
With so much going on here given the artichokes, roasted red peppers, kalamata olives and Parmesan cheese, I really expected this to be bursting with flavor, particularly since I also added garlic, olive oil, and some Tuscan seasoning when I noticed the recipe was missing seasoning of any kind. We both found this tasting too strongly of artichokes and little else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Excellent. I doubled the recipe, added chopped grilled chicken, 1Tb lemon juice, 1Tb pepper, and 1Tb parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was extremely quick and easy to make. Like other reviewers, I added extra cheese. The kids loved it, and it was delicious as a cold left-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Pretty good recipe. I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and used marinaded atrichike hearts ( a must, I think!) I also added lots of garlic, a little lemon juice, some EVOO, and some diced up red pepper, as well as a little blanched zuccini. It's a good basic idea, it just needed some tweeking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Pretty good, but I agree with "ChefJudy1" about using the marinated artichokes. I threw in some the the "juice" because it was a little bland although I also added onion and garlic powders. Good tho and we all enjoyed this side. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
bomb diggity G. I subbed the peppers for a 2oz jar of pimentos, and added 1/4 cup of oil/vinegar Italian dressing like the previous review suggested. Don't skimp on the cheese! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This was good and my family enjoyed it. One change I would make is to use marinated artichokes rather than the water packed ones. I assumed water packed when I looked over the recipe, but I think it needs the flavor of the marinated artichokes. I'd also reserve some of the oil and possibly use more of that to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States