Lokshin Kugel (Noodle Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I was disappointed in this. It was too dry, and in spite of all the onion, I thought it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
The recipe should have called for sour creme or something to take away from the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
We made it with fewer onions and in a smaller dish, was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I found this dish to be excellent and serves as a great basis for a kugel. Every Jewish family makes it differently ex. dairy, no dairy, sweet or savory, raisins no raisins, etc. I reduced to 1 onion and added 1 pint (2 cups)of cottage cheese, 1 cup sour cream and no bread crumbs (VIEW MY PHOTO). Depending on your dietary guidlines or preference, the recipe is very flexible. I also serve this with a roast chicken or beef brisket. Thank you Goldie for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I thought it was a little dry, but some family members loved it. I would make again but try to figure out how to give it a little more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
After reading the reviews of being dry - i added 1/2 cup of Kosher Chicken Broth to the onions then mixed everything together in the bowl. I was also liberal with the salt/pepper and only used 3 onions. But it turned out moist. Good non-dairy Kugel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made some helpful, healthy changes. I used whole wheat noodles, used 8 egg whites,I added some seasoned salt and omitted the breadcrumbs. The most important thing I did was COVER the baking dish! It kept it all soft instead of making the tops all hard and inedible. My 5 year olds loved it as well as my baby :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lowcal-cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was pretty tasty, but I didn't put enough salt and pepper in it. Next time I'll try about 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper. Also, it was just a bit dry. I think it needs a little liquid, maybe a little broth or cream. I will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States