Logan Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I cut this recipe in half and cooked in an 8x8" pan. I did add a little extra applesauce. I used all white whole wheat flour and it turned out great. My only complaint is that there is a LOT of sugar in this with the brown sugar, honey and molasses. Will fool around with this and if I have success, will get back to it. (or even if I don't ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I regret not having followed the other reviewers who added vanilla or peanut butter to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I make these to eat at work for a mid morning snack. Perfect for breakfast. Not too sweet, but lots of substance. Goes fairly well with coffee. I just make them in a 9x13 cake pan. Cut and individually wrap, put in the freezer and they are ready to grab and go in the morning. Thawed and ready to eat at 10AM! I omitted the rasins and even used strawberry applesauce that the kids didnt like. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Russell Froemming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
The taste is very good. I made a 1/2 recipe and cooked it in a bread pan. Be sure to smooth out the top before cooking, as it doesn't move while cooking. Mine is pretty lumpy on top, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Made this recipe last nite. I ran out of honey so I added corn syrup to make up what I was missing. I also used craisins instead of raisins. I did use the additional applesauce for moistness. I also used whole wheat pastry flour instead of the regular whole wheat flour. It was ready in about 35 minutes. Had it for breakfast today and it was awesome. I don't want to share it with my family. It tasted better cooled than right out of the oven. It's very different from all the other baked breads and cookies I usually make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I won't be making this again. I followed the recipe exactly except that I made it into 3 loaves instead of the two squares ones. This was so incredibly dry I had to add 1 full cup of orange juice just so I could get all the dry ingredients incorporated! I kept checking over the ingredients to see if I had missed something but, no, I hadn't. The baked result was dry also. I made it acceptable for eating by toasting and buttering the slices but I won't be making it again and I've got 3 loaves to get through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Impossible to mess up, versatile beyond imagining, and so energy-filled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This will be a great bread for backpacking or canoeing in the backwoods!! For my taste I will cut the sunflower seeds and add some apples and or crasins. Maybe test with some cinnamin. Other wise I loved that it was not as dense as other recipes I have tried, I definitely reccommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
FANTASTIC recipe! This bread came out great--absolutely beautiful--and delicious. I used raisins and figs and eliminated the seeds this time, which made it taste like a Fig Newton cake. Really yummy--my 5-year old couldn't get enough!! Thanks! Perfect to take along camping for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This turned out great! I made the recipe exactly as the original called for except that I added perhaps 1/8 cup less oil (not sure if that made a difference or not). Next time I will add other things like pumpkin seeds or cranberries. I wasn't sure what the texture would come out as but it's nice, dense, and chewy without being obnoxious. The molasses adds a lovely sweetness and color and I may try next time to add more molasses and less honey and oil for a richer color and more bitter taste. All in all excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States