Loco Moco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
yep... major comfort food and way easy. I go with a burger and over easy/medium eggs, though Hawaii probably consumes more Spam per capita than any state in the union. Cole slaw or lo mein on the side. Now for real traditional, throw in some flying saucers (sloppy joe version)and malasadas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by level01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
It's better with hamburger patties and fried eggs over easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I would highly recommend making this with medium-grain rice, because that is the best-tasting rice (in my not so humble opinion :P ) and because that's more in the spirit of the original dish. You can use either Spam or hamburger patties--either is acceptable, and don't let anyone else convince you otherwise. I always make it with scrambled eggs, but that is because I suck at making fried eggs. If you can manage it so you can get a bit of runny yolk it is a wonderful compliment to the gravy! This may be crazy unhealthy, but it is also crazy delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is great 'comfort food' that does not take all day to make. I usually make this with a seasoned hamburger patty instead of Spam... but love the Spam version just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Fish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This has always been a favorite of my husband who grew up on the islands, and now my sons. It is quick, easy and inexpensive. Not to mention tastes so good.. It has become a comfort food in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSFoodie
Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
As Yummy as this sounds the more traditional version is made with hamburger patties, rice, fried eggs and a side of mac salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Napua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Take out the Spam and insert a hamburger patty for a "real" loco moco. This recipe is for a Spam moco. You can go one better and replace the brown gravy with chili for a chili moco - my teenaged son's All Time Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I agree that traditional loco moco is made with hamburger and you can make the egg anyway you want, I like mine over easy. Also very good with fried rice instead of white rice if you want something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe is easy to make and simple. Not the greatest. If you're looking for an easy spam locomoco dish and don't know where to start, this recipe will suffice. However, if you are looking for a more traditional local Hawaiian style hamburger locomoco, you picked the wrong recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apple.juice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I saw this recipe mentioned on the Recipe Buzz yesterday and just HAD to try it. It's so good!! I don't care for scrambled eggs, so I cooked mine over medium instead. Also, I used the brown gravy in a packet instead of the canned gravy, because it's basically the same thing, but less expensive. This won't be a regular breakfast item because of the high level of fat, cholesterol, and sodium, but it's definitely going to be a once-in-a-while treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States