Lobster and Chive Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
this soup was great and easy to make I did add a little pepper and paprika and a tablespoon of tomato paste for color my friends and family enjoyed, the only thing hold on the salt a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I couldn't afford lobster, so I used crab and shrimp. It came out nice, though it needed to cook longer than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I've never made bisque before, nor even tasted it, so I was playing a guessing game of whether or not I did things right. It turned out fairly well, but I don't know that I would make it again. If I did, I would probably add more lobster meat (I didn't actually use enough in the first place, the tail I bought was only about 3/4 cups of meat), and I would definitely remember to cut it up a lot more than I had. My boyfriend and roommate both enjoyed it, but it was a little too bland for its rich texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Thank you Angie. I made this for my mom's 50th birthday. She is a chef and was impressed. I added a tablespoon of tomato paste for color and subtituted fat free evaporated milk for the cream and no one could tell the difference. I am making it again for my husband tonight. He loves it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This was pretty good - I scaled it to two servings and used more lobster. It was a bit too salty, so I will reduce or eliminate the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Great starter recipe. Scaled down to 4 servings. Used a whole cup of lobster tail meat. Substited half cup of milk for chicken broth and added a good splash of red wine, and substituted sliced onions for chopped green onions Added about a teaspoon of parlsey a quarter cup celery, half teasppon of cayenne pepper, and half teaspoon of paprika and two tablespoons of chopped garlic. Sauteed garlic and celery with onions and lobster. Also added a quarter cup od crushed tomatoes for color and flavor. Be sure to increase quantity of flour to insure proper consistency. Simmered for an hour to get good infusion of flavors! Also added one bay leave while simmering. Tasted wonderful. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
Fantastic! I made this for my wife and she went wild for it! Thanks for this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This recipe seems more like a starter. When it was done it tasted a bit bland to me. I added some bay leaves and a touch of paprika initially, then resorted to open a small can of tomato paste and milk and BLAM! That's what I was going for! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
I have done a lot of cooking within the past seven years, but until I sought out this recipe I had never attempted a lobster bisque. It was easy to make and tasted better than the bisque you order in a fine restaraunt. My girlfriend was very pleased and it made for a lovely dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
I would probably add a little sherry next time to enhance flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States