Lobster Thermidor Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
my father loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I substituted imitation crab meat for the real stuff but it was great! Next time I will not put as much into each tortillia. It goes a long way. My husband loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I was somewhat disappointed in this recipe for Lobster Thermidor. I made it exactly as instructed. The sauce was too thin and not rich tasting enough and had too much wine and/or lemon in it. If I make it again I would add more cream, less wine and lemon and would thicken it up with a little cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Ruidoso, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Made the sauce to pour over the cooked lobster meat, very quick and easy, everyone loved it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Would be excellent cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
To whoever suggested imitation crabmeat, thank you. I'd never have thought of that! I don't eat crab or lobster, so I've been mssing out on the thermidor I've been cooking for my significant other. Mind you, the sauce is good in my usual recipe, which is different from this one. I sub. about 3/4 of the wine with brandy, simmering the sauce before this also helps thicken it some. Definately a keeper, but one I'm going to 'fiddle with' before I'm sure I got the perfect, FOR US, recipe. That's the secret, fiddle until you got it just how you like it, recipes ain't written in stone, they're meant to be 'adjusted'. Anyway, nice recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
A great recipe... Making the sauce i was hesitant but once the mustard parsley were in, the flavor changed. Just be careful with the salt. Only problem i had was when i broiled for 3 minutes. It wasnt long enough and the lobster meat at the bottom was still raw. I had to throw back in the oven. A suggestion: place a small amount of lobster meat in the shell and place the rest in the pan with the broth...it will all cook and you'll still have the decoration
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Delicious! I did have fish stock so I used 1.5 cups of the water I used to boil the lobster and I used a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup in place of the double cream, diluting it with the white wine noted. It was quite easy to assemble and prepare and hubby thought it was the best thing ever - even better then restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCZYZYK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe is much easier than Julia Child's complicated but AMAZING recipe. Taking the best ideas from both, make this recipe but add 1 tablespoon of dried or fresh tarragon to the sauce. Instead of fish stock, boil the lobsters in 2 cups white wine, 2 cups water, sliced onion, 1 carrot and 1 celery stalk. This is a dramatic dish that can be made ahead of time, popped in the oven for browning, sure to impress your guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was easy and delicious. Always wanted to know how to make this and I was really pleased with how it turned out. Next time I would use more wine and less fish stock and definately thicken it too. A keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States