Lobster Thermidor Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Made this as a birthday dinner for my girlfriend who loves lobster. She was skeptical at first, but as soon as she took the first bite she made a face like she'd just tasted the best thing ever. She said it was great, rich and creamy with lots of lobster flavor. I'm not the biggest lobster fan in the world, but I thought it was okay too, definitely one of the better seafood dishes I've made. Adjustments I made: instead of fish stock, I added some white wine and mirepoix to the lobster cooking water and simmered it to create a makeshift lobster stock. I also added maybe 2 tbs more cream after reading some comments that the sauce was too thin. Since she liked it so much, I'll probably make this again the next time my girlfriend has something to celebrate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is a sinfully rich and delicious meal. A wonderful treat to serve your family and guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I was short on time and just added the Parmesan cheese to the sauce, then it poured over BBQ'd lobster tails. Even without broiling it tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
first time I cook lobster and it was so delicious.And my three guest was awed. thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Great Recipe, Definitely a keeper. Next time I will put it over a bed of linguini without the shells. complete it in the oven with the parmesan, Au Gratin style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Extremely easy to make! Followed this recipe exactly. Came out wonderful. I used a Pinot Grigo for the white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
YUMMY! This sauce is spectacular and would be great even over chicken or fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was a good base recipe. Used the boiling water from cooking tail (with some old bay). Started with butter/onions, added flour to make a roux, also added some roasted garlic, didnt really measure anything cause I made a smaller batch. Wish I made more, going to use the leftovers on some imitation crab, and add to pasta. This would make a great sauce for a lobster pasta too, I almost made it that way, wish I did. Would have stretched the meat and filled me up, just wanted more after I ate it. *Also, served with lemon on the side to taste instead of mixing it in, might save some headaches that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Webster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This recipe was really good. My boyfriend loved it. I don't like lobster claw meat, so I added some crab meat to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
A new take on lobster for me, I though it turned out well. It was a bit too salty, but that could have happened due to no salt measure out. I would add fresh shredded parmesan as opposed to grated parmesan, which would cut the salt flavor a bit. Other than the salt factor we throughly enjoyed this recipe. I believe it would cost less and taste just as good, to buy a couple of lobster tails instead of a whole lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Broiled Lobster Tails

This elegant dish is perfect for any special occasion.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States