Lobster Thermidor Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was a good base recipe. Used the boiling water from cooking tail (with some old bay). Started with butter/onions, added flour to make a roux, also added some roasted garlic, didnt really measure anything cause I made a smaller batch. Wish I made more, going to use the leftovers on some imitation crab, and add to pasta. This would make a great sauce for a lobster pasta too, I almost made it that way, wish I did. Would have stretched the meat and filled me up, just wanted more after I ate it. *Also, served with lemon on the side to taste instead of mixing it in, might save some headaches that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Webster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Delicious! I did have fish stock so I used 1.5 cups of the water I used to boil the lobster and I used a can of condensed cream of mushroom soup in place of the double cream, diluting it with the white wine noted. It was quite easy to assemble and prepare and hubby thought it was the best thing ever - even better then restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCZYZYK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
my father loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I substituted imitation crab meat for the real stuff but it was great! Next time I will not put as much into each tortillia. It goes a long way. My husband loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Made the sauce to pour over the cooked lobster meat, very quick and easy, everyone loved it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Would be excellent cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
To whoever suggested imitation crabmeat, thank you. I'd never have thought of that! I don't eat crab or lobster, so I've been mssing out on the thermidor I've been cooking for my significant other. Mind you, the sauce is good in my usual recipe, which is different from this one. I sub. about 3/4 of the wine with brandy, simmering the sauce before this also helps thicken it some. Definately a keeper, but one I'm going to 'fiddle with' before I'm sure I got the perfect, FOR US, recipe. That's the secret, fiddle until you got it just how you like it, recipes ain't written in stone, they're meant to be 'adjusted'. Anyway, nice recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
A great recipe... Making the sauce i was hesitant but once the mustard parsley were in, the flavor changed. Just be careful with the salt. Only problem i had was when i broiled for 3 minutes. It wasnt long enough and the lobster meat at the bottom was still raw. I had to throw back in the oven. A suggestion: place a small amount of lobster meat in the shell and place the rest in the pan with the broth...it will all cook and you'll still have the decoration
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was easy and delicious. Always wanted to know how to make this and I was really pleased with how it turned out. Next time I would use more wine and less fish stock and definately thicken it too. A keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This recipe was really good. My boyfriend loved it. I don't like lobster claw meat, so I added some crab meat to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Broiled Lobster Tails

This elegant dish is perfect for any special occasion.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States