Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I paired these delicious lobster tails with another recipe from this site, "Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze." I was worried that a strong beer flavor would conflict with the richness of the steak glaze, but we actually didn't taste beer in the lobster tails. I added 1 Tbs. of Old Bay Seasoning to the beer. Used at least 16 ounces of beer, because we needed an extra large, deep, frying pan for our four very meaty tails. I didn't measure -- just made sure I had an inch or so of beer in the pan. The tails fit fine, sort of draped over a vegetable steamer. I cooked them covered for 8 minutes, but they could have used another minute or so of cook time because of their size. Great, easy recipe. Valentine's Day treat for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Ugh - we didn't like this at all. The beer ruined it for us! For as often as we get to indulge in lobster (maybe once every couple of years), why would you chance it by steaming it in beer? I wish I thought about that before I made this. The only reason I'm giving it a two star is because I had a TON of butter to dip it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was amazing and soooooo easy!!! I did as other recommending by steaming with garlic ( I used 2 cloves). I served with melted butter, next time I will also serve with lemon wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Long Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My boyfriend and I decided to cook lobster tails for New Year's Eve. Only one problem - neither one of us had ever cooked lobster. I thought this sounded easy enough! It was AMAZING and couldn't be easier! didn't have a steam pot so I improvised with my largest saucepan and a roasting rack that happened to fit in the bottom. We cooke three tails and used one full 12 oz bottle of "Blue Moon." I thought this beer would work well since it's orange-based. The result - incredbly flavored lobster tail better than any restaurant! The only word of caution if you've never cooked lobster tail before, remember to remove the vein that runs down the back of the tail prior to serving - didn't know that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
WOW this was awesome. Made it with a full bottle of Sam Adams Hefeweisen and a few cloves of minced garlic. Steamed for 9 minutes. WOW. awesome. Will make again...when the lobster tails are on sale again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This is absolutely the easiest way to cook a tasty lobster. I added 3-4 minced garlic cloves to the beer and steamed them for about 9 and a half minutes. Watch them though...the key is to NOT overcook them. Remember, they'll cook a tad more after you remove them from the steamer before you can even get them out of the shell. I have done them twice and 9 minutes is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was my first time making lobster tails and they turned out perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Very simple and quick! The beer flavor is wonderful and the steam keeps the lobster super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gronk Bronson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
We love the flavor the beer gives it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States