Lobster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Well, I am an actual Mainer, and I thought this was an excellant base for Lobster Stew. Here's the trick to give it more flavor: first, make the stew the night before, as it will intensify greatly over night. Secondly, most restaurants add half a bottle or so of clam juice to their stew. This really brings out the lobster flavor. Again, this is a great base for classic lobster stew.... coming from a MAINER (born and raised).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Try 1 stick of butter, 1 T of paprika, 1 lb of lobster, 2 cups whole milk, 2 cups evaporated milk, 2 cups of heavy cream. This is based on Morrison's of Portland, ME famous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
That is not the way to make a good lobster stew. When you say it's a Maine recipe try asking a Mainer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I have lived in Maine for 33 years. This is lobster stew the way it should be! By making it the day before, the flavor is stronger. If you already have the lobster meat picked from the shell...this is a very simple meal. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This is absolutely an authentic recipe. My best friend, her parents and grandparents are all from Maine and make their living from the sea. This is exactly how they make their Lobster Stew. Sometime a few chopped scallions are added. Thanks Marion, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Thanks Marion. I grew up in Maine, but now live in the Midwest. I remember my Mother making this fabulous stew every Christmas Eve. Your recipe tastes just liker hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Mmmm.. having grown up in a small Maine island fishing I know this is the one! This is the way my family has always made it. Luxuriously rich and delicious! For ultimate flavor I heat it through when making it, then refrigerate overnight and reheat gently the next day. Lobstah stew doesnt get any bettah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I lived in Maine for my first 22 years, and this is almost exactly the recipe my Grandfather made every weekend during lobster season! He usually used milk and a can of evaporated milk, which tastes pretty close to half-and-half but has less fat. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, Maine, USA
Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I'm a Mainah and this is absolutely, authentically, MAINE. Delicious. We used a little extra lobster, but we were a bit piggish about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDOUGLAS1996

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was the exact recipe I grew up on in Scarborough Maine, made it Friday night with an over stuffed Lobster roll (JJ Nissan roll, butter and grilled) and for 15 minutes, all was well in the world, Thank you Marion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States