Lobster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe was just not for me. I was a bit disappointed after all the good reviews for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This soup is reason people brave the Maine winters. I loved it. But I admit I added a little Old Bay seasoning to give it a little Maryland attitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I'm a Mainah and this is absolutely, authentically, MAINE. Delicious. We used a little extra lobster, but we were a bit piggish about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDOUGLAS1996

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I lived in Maine for my first 22 years, and this is almost exactly the recipe my Grandfather made every weekend during lobster season! He usually used milk and a can of evaporated milk, which tastes pretty close to half-and-half but has less fat. Yummmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, Maine, USA
Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Marion, thanks for the real recipe. I too am from coastal Maine but I add one thing to this basic recipe. When picking out the lobsters I save the roe and tomalley. I first saute the roe and tomalley with butter and then add the lobster. It adds a deeper richness to the stew. I also agree, make it at least a day ahead of time for best flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I would also have to say that this is the way us Mainers make it...but we also need to add that the special touch with our soup is being able to cook our Maine lobster is fresh Maine ocean water to give it the real Maine lobster flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Well, I am an actual Mainer, and I thought this was an excellant base for Lobster Stew. Here's the trick to give it more flavor: first, make the stew the night before, as it will intensify greatly over night. Secondly, most restaurants add half a bottle or so of clam juice to their stew. This really brings out the lobster flavor. Again, this is a great base for classic lobster stew.... coming from a MAINER (born and raised).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I have lived in Maine for 33 years. This is lobster stew the way it should be! By making it the day before, the flavor is stronger. If you already have the lobster meat picked from the shell...this is a very simple meal. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Thanks Marion. I grew up in Maine, but now live in the Midwest. I remember my Mother making this fabulous stew every Christmas Eve. Your recipe tastes just liker hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This is absolutely an authentic recipe. My best friend, her parents and grandparents are all from Maine and make their living from the sea. This is exactly how they make their Lobster Stew. Sometime a few chopped scallions are added. Thanks Marion, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States