Lobster Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
A very good start! However, given my recent "discovery", I believe I can push THIS closer to an almost perfect "10"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was the exact recipe I grew up on in Scarborough Maine, made it Friday night with an over stuffed Lobster roll (JJ Nissan roll, butter and grilled) and for 15 minutes, all was well in the world, Thank you Marion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is a great base but for color and sweetness add paprika and sherry to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I'm originally from Maine also & this is true Lobster stew. I sometimes add just a touch of sherry when sauteing the lobster, to give it a different flavor. Making it the day before makes it much more flavorful. This is a Christmas tradition for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Everything about this recipes sounds great.. I want to try it but I just can't stand the thought of dropping live lobsters into boiling water. Guess I'll stay fat & eat desserts instead.. It sure sounds good tho!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Mmmm.. having grown up in a small Maine island fishing I know this is the one! This is the way my family has always made it. Luxuriously rich and delicious! For ultimate flavor I heat it through when making it, then refrigerate overnight and reheat gently the next day. Lobstah stew doesnt get any bettah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
It was okay...was very disappointed, as I thought I would get rave reviews. Just something lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Awesome....why skimp...love the notes about not using margarine....why is it people always change around recipes then complain about how they taste....was just reading a review that said they replaced custard powder with instant vanilla pudding....well Dah!!!! Butter is butter...anything else is not butter....dont replace apples for oranges!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Try 1 stick of butter, 1 T of paprika, 1 lb of lobster, 2 cups whole milk, 2 cups evaporated milk, 2 cups of heavy cream. This is based on Morrison's of Portland, ME famous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
It seems like a lot of 1/2 & 1/2(2 quarts) for 1 pound of lobster. There were not seasonings. Blah. I added some of the things suggested in other lobster recipes and I must admit I had to use frozen tails. I live in the midwest, no fresh lobster here. Hope it improves while it sits in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States