Lobster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mik
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Wonderfull!! I made this with a couple of changes, I used lite margerine and I used 1% milk only, didn't add creme at end, also could not find celery flakes so I used 1 tea of finely chopped celery, I also used red onion as that was what I had, and simmered soup for about 1/2 hr, then cooled and reheated it later for dinner. This was yummy and I think fairly light, I had a couple friends for dinner and they loved it. I will make this again, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mik

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Five stars with the following changes. Add a good sprinkle of Old Bay seasoning. When you add in the milk and chicken broth, use a soup hand blender to blend. Don't just cook 10 min. The onions will not be soft. I used two 8-oz packages Trans Ocean Lobster Classic Chunk Style Lobster. This is a fantastic imitation lobster (do NOT use Louis Kemp brand...ick). Let simmer on low one hour stirring occasionally. Cool then run through a blender. Reheat and add the cream. WONDERBAR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
EXCELLENT! I did, however make some changes. I used can lobster as I could not bear to use fresh lobster in a soup unless it was left over, which never happens at our house. I added worcestershire sauce, sherry, Old Bay, white pepper and paprika. I substituted heavy cream for the light cream. My only wish is that I had written down the amounts. I just did it to taste, and it was "knock your socks off" good! Thank you Dorothy for such an EXCELLENT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Lobster is a little more plentiful since we have moved back east so I was looking for a lobster soup recipe like "momma" used to make. This is nothing like momma's, it's terrific. I made it exactly as directed and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Dorothy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tignish, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great recipe. Super easy and fantastic flavor. I followed the recipe and the only thing i will do differently next time will be to add more lobster. I felt like there was too much broth for the amount of lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Made this last night for quests, everyone loved it. This was our first time visiting this site for recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I made this soup as described according to the recipe and it was far too bland for my taste (though to be fair I like things very spicy). I revamped it to get it the way i like it. I added lump crab meat, crawfish, green onions, 1 tbs white wine (dry Riesling), 3 tbs Sherry, 1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese, paprika, garlic powder, and seasoning salt. Thank you for giving me the base to what became a soup that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
In a word - AWESOME! I took the advice of a previous reviewer and added 3 tbsp of sherry (Harvey's Bristol Cream - don't use cheap cooking sherry), 2 tsp Worcestershire, 1/2 tsp paprika and a "pass" of Konrico (kind of like Ole Bay). Also - I'm cheap so I got a pound of shrimp and 2 small lobster tails. I did step 1 but just added the shrimp. Once the shrimp was cooked, I put it all in the blender (2-3 ladles at a time) so the shrimp would be like tiny shreds of lobster. Put it all back in the pot, added the cut up (small bit sized pieces) lobster tail. I forgot to add the cream - with the sherry you don't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this with frozen lobster, it didn't taste bad, but I really don't think it was worth the $17 in lobster meat spent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great Soup!!!Easy to make I put everything to in a slower so no worry about burning the soup that way.I also added Haddock. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States