Lobster Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Well, I have now tried this recipe two ways. The first time I planned to make it I could not find lobster, so I substituted steak (broil first till med. rare, dice, and add to sauce in the end). It was excellent. The second time I did use lobster, and it is excellent both ways. I would like to offer my suggestions for an even more enjoyable taste experience. I used many more cloves of garlic called for, used extra buuter, and added fresh, chopped mushrooms. I did not use the amount of cinnamon called for, as only a hint is what it needed. Just maybe 1/2 a teaspoon. The most important ingredient I added, and someone is bound to thank me for this, is Sherry (Marsala can also be used). About a 1/4 cup of this truly completes the taste. It makes all the difference. Also, only a few dashes of salt is needed. The 2 t called for I believe is way too much. I also used a 28 oz sized can of Pureed Tomatoes, instead of diced, for a smoother sauce. Can top with freshly grated parmesean. I would love to read someone else's review who tried making this with the sherry, or substituting w/ a good cut of steak. I would hate to be the only one to savor this recipe with the additions. Wonderful with a crusty bread and a caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this recipe on New Year's day to use up leftover lobster from our New Year's Eve feast. My family loved this recipe, including my 10- and 12-year-old boys. They actually put it on their list of top 10 favorite meals! I was a bit skeptical, as the recipe seemed so simple, I thought it would be bland. But it was fantastic! I made a couple of changes: I used shallots instead of onions, 1/2 diced tomatoes and 1/2 tomato sauce instead of all diced tomatoes, and bow-tie pasta instead of spaghetti noodles. I really recommend the bow-tie pasta, as it carries the sauce really well. Serve with crusty bread to sop up the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I made a few little changes since we are trying to eat more healthy. I used half and half instead of cream, and I sauted the onions and garlic in olive oil, then added the tomatoes to that to avoid the extra fat. I used canned lobster to bring the cost down as well. Over all, still tasty and a little more healthy, so I didn't feel quite as bad about enjoying it. Better fresh, the leftovers (at least my way) weren't the greatest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I thought this was simply fantastic. The only thing I did different was chop up the lobster in big bite size chunks so it was mixed in with the pasta. I made this for a family get together so I tripled all the ingredients except for the lobster which I quadrupled and the cinnamon which I only put 1 teaspoon to all that sauce and you could still taste it. The recipe calls for way too much cinnamon, use very little. I have to say this was very different than anything I've made before but it was a huge it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Do you like your lobster/pasta to taste like cinnamon rolls, if so this is the plate for you! I was very excited to make this because it sounded delicious, the only thing that made me iffy was the cinnamon. Just like I thought the cinnamon was way to overpowering and made it grossly sweet. I was very disappointing since I spent a lot of money on this nice food, added extra garlic, extra onions,and mushrooms and sadly all I could taste was the cinnamon, I could barely taste the lobster. DO NOT ADD CINNAMON TO YOURS OR JUST ADD A DASH! you have been warned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hgawenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
AWESOME dish!!! Really simple and easy to follow but totally DELICIOUS!!! I substituted the whole lobster for frozen lobster chunks and added bell peppers, mushrooms, and some corn starch to thicken it. Definitely a dish I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I halved the recipe, added scallops and used angel hair pasta--my picky hubby loved it! Next time I'm planning to add wild mushrooms and a sprinkle of good Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
My family loved this recipe. I made some substitutions: immitation lobster, fresh tomatoes, margarine, and half & half. I also added some red & yellow peppers. I doubled the recipe but left the cinnamon at 1T. Before cooking the spaghetti I broke it in half to make it easier to toss. I incorporated the meat into the sauce and tossed the pasta in it. My husband, who 1)never eats leftovers and 2) ranks new dishes "good" at best LOVED this. He told me a half dozen times it's his new favorite dish. He also ate all of the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Good flavor... Added broccoli and roasted red peppers... forgot the tomatoes. Grated imported Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese on top made this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I made this for Christmas dinner with my in-laws and it turned out excellent. We altered the recipe slightly so we could use the shellfish we had on hand - lobster tails, crab legs and shrimp. Absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States