Lobster Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe was a hit! I made a few modifications. I sauteed a shallot and minced garlic in the butter and skipped the eggs and added flour instead. I also omitted the nutmeg. To serve, I made puff pastry circles and filled with mashed potatoes and topped with the recipe. It was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bturner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I was looking for a decadent recipe for Christmas dinner, it was a huge hit! Very rich. Instead of toast points I used Pepperidge Farm puff pasties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
We all have to agree to form an alliance to not tell anyone how easy this recipe is! It is a restaurant quality recipe that takes minutes to cook. I sauteed mushrooms in garlic butter and heated the lobster chunks that I had prepared earlier, in the same pan. I also doubled the sauce and should have tripled it. I served it over linguine with lemon wedges and Vigo Swamp Heat. I also threw some leftover peas in the pasta to add a veg. BTW, I am in St. Kitts and used spiny lobster. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Outstanding, even with crab substituted for lobster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This had a great flavor and was so easy to make! I sauteed the lobster tail in the butter for a few minutes before starting the recipe & also added an extra kick of cayenne. I thought it needed more lobster, but at $27 for 2 tails, I think I'll add lump crabmeat to accompany it instead!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I made this as a topping for rib eye steak, originally. But the sauce is sooo thick with seafood (I only had cooked crab) that it worked much better on crackers and toast. Before adding the cream/egg mixture, I sweated 1/4 cup minced onion and 1 tablespoon chopped garlic - mmm added sweetness and texture. I used 3/4 teaspoon of cajun seasoning instead of salt, nutmeg, and cayenne pepper. Tasted great the next day warmed and served on plain crackers. I could have eaten a plateful! Gotta love heavy cream and butter in anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I ended up making this a "seafood" newburg with shrimp, scallops, crab & lobster but it was delish! Made it for my mom's bday & everyone loved it. Boyfriend has already asked when I'm making again. My only complaing: maybe my family has huge appetites or something, but I adjusted for 10 servings & it still didn't seem to be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this recipe to serve at a Sunday brunch. It kept well in a chafing dish and I spooned it into puff pasty shells to serve. It was an elegant way to enjoy this deliciously easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Wow, this was amazingly good, especially considering how easy it is to make! I served it over linguine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHOERNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ullin, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very rich and creamy! I did take the advice of cooking the lobster meat and shells in the butter. I added 1 cloves finely minced garlic and 1 cup sliced mushrooms. Served over linguini pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States