Lobster Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I added a chopped shallot to the butter and it was just as I remembered my mother making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
As others have stated, this is a restaurant-quality dish that is incredibly easy to make. I made it exactly as written, and it was perfect. I used two whole lobsters, but next time I will use either lobster tails or perhaps try making Crab Newburg, using Alaskan king crab. Most of my time was spent extracting the meat from the whole lobsters, so avoiding the whole lobsters would speed up the process. I will also try using canned milk instead of the heavy cream, as an experiment. If I don't give up too much in flavor, the canned milk would make it more healthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is totally awesome! Easy to do and the taste is fantastic! I can't wait to try it on shrimp, halibut and cod or maybe try serving it with rice or quinoa, instead of the toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I was in the mood for seafood the other night and found your recipe. I used Madeira this time only because when I went to my bar it was what I saw first. And I used puff pastry shells instead of toast because I had them already in the freezer. Wonderful, quick and easy yet very elegant! I think a lot of people might be a bit scared because to the butter and the constant stirring. But there really is nothing to be worried about. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This is the recipe I've been looking for! You can add shrimp, scallop, any kind of fish to this recipe. Adjust all the spices to your own taste. I crumbled up some buttery crackers and spread on top and broiled. Served with rice. This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Decadent! Restaurant quality and super simple. This is a low carb dream meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Loved it... only change i made was I added a little grated parmerson cheese and served it on egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Callahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Awesome sauce! I actually made the sauce to pour over a lobster and muenster cheese omelette (I had left over lobster from the night before). I also threw the shells in to flavor the sauce and used old bay instead of salt. I reduced the sherry to 1 tbs. I topped my omelette with this sauce and sliced green onion over the top. It was incredible. As good as it is, I am sure the original recipe (as served over toast) is just as good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Best Lobster Newbury I have ever eaten! Not near as salty as all the others I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Delicious and easy! I used the frozen Langostino tails from Trader Joes which made everything that much easier. They have a similar sweetness as lobster meat. We tasted the suace before serving and my 24 year old son suggested a squeeze of lemon juice. I did like the addition of something acidic, but either way would have been wonderful. He had his on toast and raved about it. This is also perfect for anyone following the Atkins diet as I am. I simply left out the toast and had it with asparagus. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States