Lobster Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this.. on the advice of our grocer we used monkfish (he called it "the poor man's lobster!) and it was excellent-this made this delcious recipe very very reasonable-allowing us to enjoy it much more often!!! It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Excellent, and a keeper! I did change the procedure a bit by adding the cayenne pepper to the melted butter. I then added the meat and the shell, covered to steam whilel I prepared other ingredients. This step added flavor directly to the lobster and gain addition flavor from the shell. Remove meat, keeping warm and discard the shell, proceed with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Absolutely brilliant. As I live on the East Coast of course I used fresh lobster. Also added a little flour in lieu of egg yolks because of family health concerns; otherwise rich but delicious. Not a weekly choice, but certainly for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very rich and creamy! I did take the advice of cooking the lobster meat and shells in the butter. I added 1 cloves finely minced garlic and 1 cup sliced mushrooms. Served over linguini pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I made this as a topping for rib eye steak, originally. But the sauce is sooo thick with seafood (I only had cooked crab) that it worked much better on crackers and toast. Before adding the cream/egg mixture, I sweated 1/4 cup minced onion and 1 tablespoon chopped garlic - mmm added sweetness and texture. I used 3/4 teaspoon of cajun seasoning instead of salt, nutmeg, and cayenne pepper. Tasted great the next day warmed and served on plain crackers. I could have eaten a plateful! Gotta love heavy cream and butter in anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
We all have to agree to form an alliance to not tell anyone how easy this recipe is! It is a restaurant quality recipe that takes minutes to cook. I sauteed mushrooms in garlic butter and heated the lobster chunks that I had prepared earlier, in the same pan. I also doubled the sauce and should have tripled it. I served it over linguine with lemon wedges and Vigo Swamp Heat. I also threw some leftover peas in the pasta to add a veg. BTW, I am in St. Kitts and used spiny lobster. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This recipe is so easy to prepare and absolutely delicious. I added more nutmeg and omitted the cayenne and it was so creamy. We could eat it every week, but Maine lobsters are pricey in Phoenix :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
THIS IS AWESOME! Since moving to the midwest I've missed out on my favorite dish - Seafood Newburg. I found this and thought I'd make it for my birthday - I strayed because I was looking for seafood and not just lobster - so I used fresh lobster, crab and scallops (as fresh as you'll get in the midwest) plus a bag of salad shrimp. I also added in mushrooms because they needed to be used up and it turned out fabulous. My husband even thought it was better than the stuff I used to get on the East Coast. I served them over Puff Pastry Shells with asparagus and riesling wine! SUPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
OMG!!!! Could a simple recipe get any better??? I say "no".....This baby carries a WOW factor!!! I made as directed with the exception of adding a bit of sauted fresh chopped spinach and small amount of red pepper for some color. I served this DELISHIOUS recipe in phllo dough cups which I made in my muffin tin along side a beautiful med rare ribeye steak which I blackened prior to grilling. The combination of the richness of the lobster newburg and the heat of the blackened steak was a definate winner!!! Will most definately make again and play around with the versatility of ways to serve this recipe. Next timme I am considering incorporating crab and scallops and tripling the sauce and making a nice seafood lasagna........Oh My... I am so drooling on my keyboard!!!!!! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlyJean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
This was a delicious way to eat lobster. Perfect if you are looking for a change from steamed or grilled lobstertail. will definately be making again. Next time i might add a bit of flour or cornstarch in addition to the egg yolks to thicken it up a bit more to serve over pasta noodles. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Broiled Lobster Tails

This elegant dish is perfect for any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States