Lobster Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I made this as a topping for rib eye steak, originally. But the sauce is sooo thick with seafood (I only had cooked crab) that it worked much better on crackers and toast. Before adding the cream/egg mixture, I sweated 1/4 cup minced onion and 1 tablespoon chopped garlic - mmm added sweetness and texture. I used 3/4 teaspoon of cajun seasoning instead of salt, nutmeg, and cayenne pepper. Tasted great the next day warmed and served on plain crackers. I could have eaten a plateful! Gotta love heavy cream and butter in anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I ended up making this a "seafood" newburg with shrimp, scallops, crab & lobster but it was delish! Made it for my mom's bday & everyone loved it. Boyfriend has already asked when I'm making again. My only complaing: maybe my family has huge appetites or something, but I adjusted for 10 servings & it still didn't seem to be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this recipe to serve at a Sunday brunch. It kept well in a chafing dish and I spooned it into puff pasty shells to serve. It was an elegant way to enjoy this deliciously easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Wow, this was amazingly good, especially considering how easy it is to make! I served it over linguine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHOERNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ullin, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very rich and creamy! I did take the advice of cooking the lobster meat and shells in the butter. I added 1 cloves finely minced garlic and 1 cup sliced mushrooms. Served over linguini pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Needs a little more sherry and a dash or two of hot sauce. Otherwise, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Excellent, and a keeper! I did change the procedure a bit by adding the cayenne pepper to the melted butter. I then added the meat and the shell, covered to steam whilel I prepared other ingredients. This step added flavor directly to the lobster and gain addition flavor from the shell. Remove meat, keeping warm and discard the shell, proceed with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
My husband and I really enjoyed this.. on the advice of our grocer we used monkfish (he called it "the poor man's lobster!) and it was excellent-this made this delcious recipe very very reasonable-allowing us to enjoy it much more often!!! It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Very easy to make, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This recipe is so easy to prepare and absolutely delicious. I added more nutmeg and omitted the cayenne and it was so creamy. We could eat it every week, but Maine lobsters are pricey in Phoenix :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Newberg

See how to make a shockingly simple, rich lobster dish.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States