Lobster Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Made this for friends as part of a Thank you dinner. This was absolutely great! Everyone raved about it that evening and the next day at a BBQ we attended. This was easy and fast. Served in puff pastry shells next to bacon rapped filets with a side salad. I took the lobster meat from tails, diced the meat and cooked it in the butter as it melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
quite tasty, although a little rich for our dietary tates, but still a wonderful occaisional treat! I have tweaked it a bit to make it a bit lower in calorie count and fat content, and will share that recipe directly. Very Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
THIS IS AWESOME! Since moving to the midwest I've missed out on my favorite dish - Seafood Newburg. I found this and thought I'd make it for my birthday - I strayed because I was looking for seafood and not just lobster - so I used fresh lobster, crab and scallops (as fresh as you'll get in the midwest) plus a bag of salad shrimp. I also added in mushrooms because they needed to be used up and it turned out fabulous. My husband even thought it was better than the stuff I used to get on the East Coast. I served them over Puff Pastry Shells with asparagus and riesling wine! SUPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe was a hit! I made a few modifications. I sauteed a shallot and minced garlic in the butter and skipped the eggs and added flour instead. I also omitted the nutmeg. To serve, I made puff pastry circles and filled with mashed potatoes and topped with the recipe. It was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bturner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I was looking for a decadent recipe for Christmas dinner, it was a huge hit! Very rich. Instead of toast points I used Pepperidge Farm puff pasties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
We all have to agree to form an alliance to not tell anyone how easy this recipe is! It is a restaurant quality recipe that takes minutes to cook. I sauteed mushrooms in garlic butter and heated the lobster chunks that I had prepared earlier, in the same pan. I also doubled the sauce and should have tripled it. I served it over linguine with lemon wedges and Vigo Swamp Heat. I also threw some leftover peas in the pasta to add a veg. BTW, I am in St. Kitts and used spiny lobster. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Outstanding, even with crab substituted for lobster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This had a great flavor and was so easy to make! I sauteed the lobster tail in the butter for a few minutes before starting the recipe & also added an extra kick of cayenne. I thought it needed more lobster, but at $27 for 2 tails, I think I'll add lump crabmeat to accompany it instead!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I made this as a topping for rib eye steak, originally. But the sauce is sooo thick with seafood (I only had cooked crab) that it worked much better on crackers and toast. Before adding the cream/egg mixture, I sweated 1/4 cup minced onion and 1 tablespoon chopped garlic - mmm added sweetness and texture. I used 3/4 teaspoon of cajun seasoning instead of salt, nutmeg, and cayenne pepper. Tasted great the next day warmed and served on plain crackers. I could have eaten a plateful! Gotta love heavy cream and butter in anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I ended up making this a "seafood" newburg with shrimp, scallops, crab & lobster but it was delish! Made it for my mom's bday & everyone loved it. Boyfriend has already asked when I'm making again. My only complaing: maybe my family has huge appetites or something, but I adjusted for 10 servings & it still didn't seem to be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Newberg

See how to make a shockingly simple, rich lobster dish.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States