Lobster Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Margo
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Very flavorful! I did take others advice a bit. I sauteed Very little white onion, green onion and one garlic clove minced in the butter and then added the Sherry. Then I pretty much completed the recipe as is. I used Lobster from a container, claw meat and tail meat so delicious. I did add a touch of Cornstarch at the end to thicken up the sauce a bit more. This would be very tasty on angel hair pasta or in a Green pepper or atop mushroom, then baked with a little parmesan sprinkled on the top. Thank you for a wonderfully, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
My husband and I like this very much. I took some of the others suggestions added mushrooms, shalotts, more pepper and nutmeg, with 5Tbs marsala. Doubled sauce recipe. Will do this again with other seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Decadent! This is a keeper for those special occasions. IThe only thing I did different was added sauteed mushrooms. I used frozen Lobster and squeezed out ALL the excess water. I did make 12 servings to serve 7 of us and glad I did (I would say there was enough left over for 1 more serving) It was the right amount with a bunch of men at the table. Had this been a ladies luncheon the regular serving size would have been fine. If I wanted to be picky I would add a little more of the seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Made this exactly to the recipe, although I doubled the sauce. It was rich enough but pretty bland overall. While I realize Lobster is a delicate flavor and doesn't need to be overwhelmed with others, this really does need something more. I have never been to Red Lobster so can't attest to a comparison of flavors in that regard. I will definitely add finely diced shallots in a future rendition but not likely garlic as that is too overwhelming. Will definitely do the mirepoix in the broth for steaming the tails. (as per the original Delmonico's recipe). The three tails I bot worked out to 3/4 cup of Lobster meat which was adequate for two peeps but expensive to serve more so if needs to be moh bettah if I'm going to do this again. As written, you may as well make Hollandaise. It's not much different. I'll try again using Chef Anotoine's tweaks with a little help from the original recipe. I'm sure it will be great but not with the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Very goodwith fat free cream. Only change i made. Lobster was the star. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
As a professional chef I found this recipe very lacking a built up flavor profile, it didn't have the depth I would have imagined it should have but the ingredients were almost all there. I changed a few thins and it was great. First I sautéed an onion that was diced fine, next I deglazed the pan with the sherry and reduced until the pan was almost dry. Adding the butter that I let soften in next. I added the cream and egg yolk mixture and let thicken and finally the shrimp. This was a totally different flavor from that of the original recipe. It had more depth and flavor. Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
i have been making this for years. i also change it up a bit, i take a tube of ritz crackers smash them 1 stick of butter and acouple dashed of Worcestershire sauce mix it together and put it on top of the lobster mixture and call it lobster pie. so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
A BIT RICH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
The recipe does not say when to add the cream. I just did it at the end while warming up the lobster, but I do no know if that is the best way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I added a chopped shallot to the butter and it was just as I remembered my mother making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Newberg

See how to make a shockingly simple, rich lobster dish.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States