Lobster Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Decadent! This is a keeper for those special occasions. IThe only thing I did different was added sauteed mushrooms. I used frozen Lobster and squeezed out ALL the excess water. I did make 12 servings to serve 7 of us and glad I did (I would say there was enough left over for 1 more serving) It was the right amount with a bunch of men at the table. Had this been a ladies luncheon the regular serving size would have been fine. If I wanted to be picky I would add a little more of the seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Made this exactly to the recipe, although I doubled the sauce. It was rich enough but pretty bland overall. While I realize Lobster is a delicate flavor and doesn't need to be overwhelmed with others, this really does need something more. I have never been to Red Lobster so can't attest to a comparison of flavors in that regard. I will definitely add finely diced shallots in a future rendition but not likely garlic as that is too overwhelming. Will definitely do the mirepoix in the broth for steaming the tails. (as per the original Delmonico's recipe). The three tails I bot worked out to 3/4 cup of Lobster meat which was adequate for two peeps but expensive to serve more so if needs to be moh bettah if I'm going to do this again. As written, you may as well make Hollandaise. It's not much different. I'll try again using Chef Anotoine's tweaks with a little help from the original recipe. I'm sure it will be great but not with the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Very goodwith fat free cream. Only change i made. Lobster was the star. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
As a professional chef I found this recipe very lacking a built up flavor profile, it didn't have the depth I would have imagined it should have but the ingredients were almost all there. I changed a few thins and it was great. First I sautéed an onion that was diced fine, next I deglazed the pan with the sherry and reduced until the pan was almost dry. Adding the butter that I let soften in next. I added the cream and egg yolk mixture and let thicken and finally the shrimp. This was a totally different flavor from that of the original recipe. It had more depth and flavor. Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
i have been making this for years. i also change it up a bit, i take a tube of ritz crackers smash them 1 stick of butter and acouple dashed of Worcestershire sauce mix it together and put it on top of the lobster mixture and call it lobster pie. so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
A BIT RICH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
The recipe does not say when to add the cream. I just did it at the end while warming up the lobster, but I do no know if that is the best way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I added a chopped shallot to the butter and it was just as I remembered my mother making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
As others have stated, this is a restaurant-quality dish that is incredibly easy to make. I made it exactly as written, and it was perfect. I used two whole lobsters, but next time I will use either lobster tails or perhaps try making Crab Newburg, using Alaskan king crab. Most of my time was spent extracting the meat from the whole lobsters, so avoiding the whole lobsters would speed up the process. I will also try using canned milk instead of the heavy cream, as an experiment. If I don't give up too much in flavor, the canned milk would make it more healthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is totally awesome! Easy to do and the taste is fantastic! I can't wait to try it on shrimp, halibut and cod or maybe try serving it with rice or quinoa, instead of the toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Newberg

See how to make a shockingly simple, rich lobster dish.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States