Lobster Mornay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
My partner and I tried this last night, using shrimp. We truly enjoyed it! One thing I think I would modify in the recipe is to call for baby bella mushrooms - the little portabellas - sliced. Otherwise, this is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I really liked how this one turned out. I did change a few things though. I omitted the mushrooms because I didn't have any on hand. I also used imitation crab meat...thought it was safer with a new recipe. I also added just a little bit of gouda cheese, to thicken and give a little bit more flavor. I served over pasta and it was great. Thanks for the post...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is so good and so easy! I used shrimp and scallops for mine. I also made 2 batches , one exactly as written and the other with fat free cream and fat free I cant believe its butter ( the liquid one , I just took the cap off and poured it in ) and light parmesan cheese ... I had my family try both , and they couldnt tell the difference :) Its so good either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Oh my goodness! How can you be so delicious, lobster mornay? This recipe definitely deserves more praise... of course it is in need of some minor adjustment. Adding salt to taste was a wonderful suggestion. Minced garlic to your liking. And for preserving the whiteness of the end result, you'll want to use good quality butter for the beurre manie. Because the flavor of the lobster is in the butter to which you are adding the broth, cream, and pepper, you don't want to pour that out! You'll want to keep the butter... just make sure to clean your mushrooms and to not overcook them, which causes the butter to become discolored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I've made this sauce many times and each time it turns out great. To the other folks that said it had no taste and they had to throw it out, maybe you should try seasoning the food. As Emeril would say "I don't know where you buy your food, but mine doesn't come seasoned." Sometimes you have to adjust a recipe for your own taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This recipe was really good. The only problem I had with it was the appearance of the sauce after it was cooked. It turned out a brownish black color and didn't look very appetizing, but it tasted great. I cut the recipe in half and it made plenty for 2 people. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and it was still rich and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Absolutely decadent, wonderful and rich! I added garlic and crushed red pepper to the sautee'ing process. I used 1/2 and 1/2 in place of heavy cream. YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedVinoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Photo by NYPD K9 COP
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
delish!! velvety taste, restaurant quality.. I did add minced garlic and a little more heavy cream to make more sauce. soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I made this for my daughter's birthday on 4/1/07. It was great! I added shrimp, scallops and broccoli. My family loved it. It will probably be her traditional birthday meal from now on....Thanks...Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I used imitation crab and shrimp and sauteed garlic with the mushrooms and instead of the flour I thickened with corn startch. My husband is not a big pasta fan but went back for seconds and we both loved the dish and none was left. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States