Lobster Mornay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Oh my goodness! How can you be so delicious, lobster mornay? This recipe definitely deserves more praise... of course it is in need of some minor adjustment. Adding salt to taste was a wonderful suggestion. Minced garlic to your liking. And for preserving the whiteness of the end result, you'll want to use good quality butter for the beurre manie. Because the flavor of the lobster is in the butter to which you are adding the broth, cream, and pepper, you don't want to pour that out! You'll want to keep the butter... just make sure to clean your mushrooms and to not overcook them, which causes the butter to become discolored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
After a wonderful weekend in Maine, I came home with two pounds of fresh cooked lobster. This was a fabulous way to use it. I added minced garlic, as others suggested and added a hearty splash of wine to the roux. Because my lobster was already cooked I added it at the end. I fed 3 hungry friends and they all raved. This is elegant, easy and sumptuous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I also added fresh garlic, salt, asparagus, and regular portabello mushrooms to this recipe. My husband loved it so much, he didn't utter a word during dinner! The sauce still needed a kick, so I added tabasco sauce to every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYPD K9 COP
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
delish!! velvety taste, restaurant quality.. I did add minced garlic and a little more heavy cream to make more sauce. soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
As suggested by a reviewer, I added minced garlic to the sauce. I served it over linguini pasta with steamed vegetables on the side for an easy meal. Next time I will try it with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
This recipe was divine! I took others' suggestions by adding salt and garlic. The color turned out just fine. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
My husband and I absolutely loved this dish! I added a splash of Maderia wine and some paprika and used fat-free half & half. I also added additional chicken broth to the flour to make a roux. It came out wonderful. I served it over pasta and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I really liked how this one turned out. I did change a few things though. I omitted the mushrooms because I didn't have any on hand. I also used imitation crab meat...thought it was safer with a new recipe. I also added just a little bit of gouda cheese, to thicken and give a little bit more flavor. I served over pasta and it was great. Thanks for the post...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I made this for Valentine's Day and it was really, really wonderful. I didn't change a thing. I had no problems with the sauce turning color and used a little over a pound of fresh lobster meat because we like it so much. We'll definitely have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnlineMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Very good recipe! Never had anything like it... To those that had problem with the flour turning a dark color, this is what could be done instead; When cooking Mushrooms and Lobster in pan, do not use the butter leftover to make the "Roux" (Butter and Flour mixture)cook it in a different pan with brand new butter, amount depending on servings desired. Making sure to stir constantly. Also be sure to add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States