Lobster Mornay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Delicious as written! This is so quick, easy and great tasting! The only changes, I use cayenne pepper to taste and sometimes add a tablespoon or so of chopped chives. If you want a little color, add 1/2 red bell pepper, finely diced and sautéed a couple of minutes in a little butter. I love making it with bow tie pasta. thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Substituted the heavy cream for Coffee Mate, which I do all the time and love the results. I also added chardonnay, but any white wine to taste, and some freshly grated nutmeg, also to taste. You could rub it in your hair it's so good! ;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is a good Mornay Sauce recipe, but for me, though, it overwhelms the wonderful, distinct flavor of the lobster. Perhaps if I lived in Maine and ate fresh lobster weekly I might not feel this way, but as it is, the four or five times a year when I do buy lobster I think that I prefer it with just the butter, and lemon. I will definitely make this again, but using shrimp instead. It will make an awesome Shrimp Mornay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is very good but definitely needs some spices, nutmeg and garlic adds a lot more flavour, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was DELICIOUS!!! I made this with shrimp instead of lobster (cheaper!), and I omitted the mushrooms (boyfriend hates them) and used light cream instead of heavy cream. I followed the cooking directions as written, and this created the most silky, savory, and decadent sauce. My boyfriend was raving about this dish to friends and family. Best part? So incredibly easy to make. I served it over brown rice and sauteed squash. You could serve it over pasta, but I recommend (brown) rice because the sauce is pretty thick, so the rice was great for soaking it up; the pasta might be a bit too heavy with the sauce. Make this for your boss who you want to impress, and for your mother in law who you want to hush up. :-) YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Agreed, this was a delicious dish! My "tweaks" were as follows: sub. evaporated milk for the cream...half real butter/half margarine....chopped garlic and red onion sauteed with the lobster and mushrooms....lighten up on chicken broth by a tablespoon or two and sub. some sherry. a dash of nutmeg didn't hurt, either. We had some havartii cheese with dill, so I chopped up about 1/4 C of that and tossed it in, too!! Some chopped fresh parsley would have sealed the deal, but didn't have any. Served on a bed of boiled ravioli...with a salad. Very good dinner and the kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Really thought it was quite good - did add garlic - salt, pepper, a little red pepper flakes but it is an excellent base for a great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good sauce, I added some garlic for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kayla Kinney
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
VERY yummy!!! I put mine over cheese Ravioli. I also added onion, green bell pepper and garlic. I used imitation lobster b/c thats the only thing I could find but it was so good. I also had a little lemon wedge and squeezed it over the chunks of lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Kinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I made this and used it for topping for baked stuff cod! wow was it fantastic. I added 1 Tb dry sherry to the dish along with 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper and tsp lemon rind...my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States