Lobster Mornay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
This recipe was divine! I took others' suggestions by adding salt and garlic. The color turned out just fine. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
My husband and I absolutely loved this dish! I added a splash of Maderia wine and some paprika and used fat-free half & half. I also added additional chicken broth to the flour to make a roux. It came out wonderful. I served it over pasta and it was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I really liked how this one turned out. I did change a few things though. I omitted the mushrooms because I didn't have any on hand. I also used imitation crab meat...thought it was safer with a new recipe. I also added just a little bit of gouda cheese, to thicken and give a little bit more flavor. I served over pasta and it was great. Thanks for the post...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I made this for Valentine's Day and it was really, really wonderful. I didn't change a thing. I had no problems with the sauce turning color and used a little over a pound of fresh lobster meat because we like it so much. We'll definitely have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnlineMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Very good recipe! Never had anything like it... To those that had problem with the flour turning a dark color, this is what could be done instead; When cooking Mushrooms and Lobster in pan, do not use the butter leftover to make the "Roux" (Butter and Flour mixture)cook it in a different pan with brand new butter, amount depending on servings desired. Making sure to stir constantly. Also be sure to add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This recipe was really good. The only problem I had with it was the appearance of the sauce after it was cooked. It turned out a brownish black color and didn't look very appetizing, but it tasted great. I cut the recipe in half and it made plenty for 2 people. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and it was still rich and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Thanks for the recipe, I was really just looking for a mornay sauce recipe and this was the only one on the site. The mornay sauce was absolutely scrumptious! For a spin on the seafood, instead of the lobster I used precooked chicken and steamed veges as filling for an open pie with a cheese topping. I'm stuffed but in heaven, having eaten about 8 serves in the last 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This recipe was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I used imitation crab and shrimp and sauteed garlic with the mushrooms and instead of the flour I thickened with corn startch. My husband is not a big pasta fan but went back for seconds and we both loved the dish and none was left. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I halved this recipe, which made two very generous portions. I also used baby portobello mushrooms, as another reviewer suggested. It was extremely simple and extremely rich and amazing. One of those simple but very impressive dishes. Serve with good pasta, preferably homemade. Also - one other addition I made was a nice grinding of fresh nutmeg - gave it that added dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States